a question about sandboxie?

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by The Red Moon, Jun 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    hi
    ive just a little query about sandboxie.
    i run my firefox browser in sandboxie and ive just changed my avatar in this very forum.
    my avatar folder is in my real pictures folder.
    How come i was able to upload one of my avatars into my sandboxed browser?
    Sorry if its a dumb question but i would have expected not to have been able to do that.
    Kind regards.
     
  2. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,248
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    Did you give explorer.exe start/run in your sandbox? Either remove explorer.exe from your start/run access or Go to Restriction Access-->File Access-->Block access, add your pictures folder and that will fix the issue.
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2012
  3. Montmorency

    Montmorency Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    You can, and should, bring stuff from outside the sandbox to inside the sandbox.
    The idea is to impede the other way round.
     
  4. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    ^ +1

    ...Unless of course you alter defaults and want less access.
     
  5. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    hi
    ive installed sandboxie with default settings straight out of the box.
    these are the programs which have start/run access.
    jp2launcher.exe
    java.exe
    dllhost.exe
    rundll32.exe
    cmd.exe
    firefox.exe
    thunderbird.exe.
    Im not too certain what the strongest configuration is.I am running the experimental protection with no issues.Is there any guides of any sort which can show me what programs i need to give start/run access etc.?
    Kind regards.
     
  6. PC__Gamer

    PC__Gamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    526
    As long as your browsers and any programs you download through are sandboxed, you shouldn't need anything else.

    Some people on here overkill the settings and run every app sand boxed, I don't believe that's necessary at all.

    Its always nice to have that on-demand scanner to check your system, HMP covers that area.

    I've had no issues running sandboxie, HMP hasn't been needed but I'd rather have a powerful on-demand scanner as a 'just-in-case' scenario. :p
     
  7. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    thanks pc gamer,
    I just run my browser and thunderbird mainly.
    dont usually download and install a lot of programs.
    Thanks again for your help.:cool:
     
  8. Montmorency

    Montmorency Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    I agree with PC Gamer, the default settings are strong enough.
    After all if you're running the browser sandboxed every program that is launched through it is sanboxed as well.
    The only changes I made was to only allow Firefox access to the Internet and automatically delete contents on closing the browser.
     
  9. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    mate you brought your avitar through
    sandboxed firefox so its auto sandboxed no worries
     
  10. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,766
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    To block access to your personal files and folders in the computer by sandboxed programs, use the File Access > Blocked Access setting. Use that setting to keep your files, yours.;)
    http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?ResourceAccessSettings#file
    SBIE is very strong as it comes on default. In my opinion its always better to use SBIE with default settings for a while, a few weeks, when you first start using SBIE but after a while when you get to know the program a little better, then start making changes by restricting the programs that are allowed to run and connect out. A restricted sandbox IS stronger than one with default settings so that should be the goal.
    Running "most" of the apps that I use everyday sandboxed, has allowed me to get rid of all scanners, including HMP. If I felt a little shaky about it, I would have HMP, MBAM and who know how many other scanners on hand. I kind of believe the Sandboxie thing "Trust No Program", that's why I sandbox most of the programs that I normally use.

    Bo
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.