A question about PC-cillin

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Firecat, Nov 9, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Well, I know that some users of PCC 2005 have recieved a free upgrade to PC-cillin 2006, but is this valid in Europe and Australia/New Zealand?

    Are there any users in Europe, Australia or NZ who also recieved the free upgrade? o_O
     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    No replies? :(

    Trend sure is superstitious.......they skipped out on the version 13 of their AV. ;)
     
  3. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    Nobody likes number 13. I think you should be able to upgrade from 12 to 14 version no matter where you live.


    tD
     
  4. Frencho

    Frencho Guest

    Hello.

    I'm a Spanish user of PC-Cillin 2005. PC-Cillin 2006 is not available in Europe yet. It's not even announced in any of TrendMicro's European website. I e-mailed to Trend asking when PC-Cillin 2006 would be available in Spanish. The answer was: "We don't know".
     
  5. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    My local TM dealer tells me that 2006 will be available by February....:doubt:
     
  6. DonKid

    DonKid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    S?o Paulo, Brazil
    Maybe 13 is the position that they get when an AV test is released ?:D
     
  7. Frencho

    Frencho Guest

    I don't know anything about how software companies sell their products, but 2006 being unavailable in Europe strikes me as funny. I can understand PCC being unavailable in Spanish on account of translating the software, but I don't understand why it's also unavailable in the United Kingdom, for example. Is this normal procedure?
     
  8. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Seems normal for Trend Micro.....I do observe that the program is "localized" for different regions, for example, the Japanese "Virus Buster" (PC-cillin) and there are minor changes in the interface here and there (like how the UK version says PC-cillin Internet Security 12, while the American version says PC-cillin Internet Security 2005)....
     
  9. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,635
    Location:
    UK
    I think you can use an existing licence on a newer version, which I did do a couple of years back, and I'm in Europe.
     
  10. Frencho

    Frencho Guest

    I'm sure you can, but first the newer version must be available to you. I can't upgrade to the newer version because it's not available in Europe yet. I find it a bit frustrating. It's sort of discriminating European customers, don't you think?
     
  11. Frencho

    Frencho Guest

    PC-Cillin is already available in Spain, but I haven't received the free upgrade yet.
     
  12. Ozmaniac

    Ozmaniac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Posts:
    254
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Firecat,

    There are definitely no free PC-cillin 2006 upgrades in Australia and New Zealand. Don't know about Europe though.:cool:
     
  13. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I email Trend support three times and there are no free upgrades in the US either.
     
  14. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    Texas
    In the past Trend Micro made available, free an update to a newer version, while your license was still valid. Or during the year, you could upgrade for free, if they had a new release. When I called support & reminded them, of past policy on upgrading, I was told they changed there policy. I said well that's not how it worked in the past. The technician then gave me a link to PC-cillin 2006, & told me to enter my old serial number, all FREE. I think they are in transition, policy wise & if your nice & a little persistent with tech. you may get a free version. At least it worked for me, I also reminded them that I've been a customer since 1929.

    Good Luck
    rico
     
  15. Frencho

    Frencho Guest

    I've got my free upgrade! I wrote to Trend. They told me to download the trial version, and instead of registering it with the trial serial number, I was told to register it with my old serial number. It's that simple!
     
  16. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Can anyone confirm that the current version of Trend supports RAID? 2004 did not and I quit using it as a backup scanner as I use only RAID pc's these days.
     
  17. jwcca

    jwcca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Toronto
    I had 2000, 2002, 2003 and then extended 2003 for a year, then 2005. I've had a RAID-1 setup since Jan. 2003 with no problems, but since I didn't try 2004 I didn't know there was a problem. But 2005 is definitely OK and I presume 2006 will be too.
    Jim
     
  18. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I downloaded the trend internet security 2006 and inserted the key from my 2005 and it worked just fine, the same expiriation date as the 2005 ver. I tried it for about ten minutes and then uninstalled it as they have not fixed the heavy resource usage of the TMProxy it was useing 92 mbs. plus all of the other TM modules running. It is just to much resource usage for me.
     
  19. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    WOW @ 92MB! Way too much hogging of the RAM there for me too. Thanks for the info bigc.:cool:
     
  20. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    I was using 2004 version sure it crashed me IE global force is sorting it out although i havnt seen that same error since..Im using NIS2006 way betterrrrrrrr Trend r getting worst MD
     
  21. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,102
    Hi Eliot,

    You have probably already discovered that PC-cillin Internet Security 2006 supports:
    - RAID 0 (Striping) or RAID 1 (Mirroring or Duplexing)

    -- Tom
     
  22. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Yep, I sure did. I should have posted that, lol. Its easy to lose track of threads these days I guess. :eek:
     
  23. proll

    proll Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    :eek: there must be someting wrong with your system.....
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      11.8 KB
      Views:
      366
  24. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    The longer Pc-cillin runs the higher the Tmproxy gets in usage. It is a known problem by Trend Micro and they have been trying to fix it. Their work around really sucks, the suggest you turn the mail protection off to lower the resource usage. And I guarantee there is nothing wrong with this computer. Keeping computers running healthy and correctly is what I do for a living. Or I should say did for a living I finally retired.

    have a good day.
    bigc
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2006
  25. jwcca

    jwcca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Toronto
    I just noticed this and decided to look for myself. TmProxy is using 70,792 bytes on my W2K system. I also checked the dates of the program modules from the PCC "Last Update" window and I have new versions of the programs showing as updated in Dec. 2005.
    I think that those are most likely the same as what ships in the 2006 version, meaning that if you have a purchase upgrade cycle, mine is in August, you get the latest as soon as it's available, without having to download the entire install package, 2006 was 45MB. The licence (key) is valid for both 2005 and 2006, Trend simply provides the latest version up until renewal time.
    Jim
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.