A heckneyed question: am I safe?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Ohmy, Oct 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ohmy

    Ohmy Guest

    Hi,

    I want to ask you guys a hackneyed question,

    which is "am I safe?"

    I'm using Vista 32 bit, 2.00gHz, 1GB Ram laptop.

    I usually surf in the safe part of the internet (WSF etc),

    but I do sometimes use P2P programs like uTorrent.

    I'm using Kaspersky Internet Security 2009,

    and SuperAntiSpyware on-demand.

    According to these habits I have, am I good to go with my current setup?

    Perhaps, should I add anything?

    I can't really judge myself, and I think I need some help with it.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Ohmy

    Ohmy Guest

    Oh, and BTW,
    I'm not so sure if I am behind the router.
    I do use it, but I don't remember using any of those fancy NAT, hardware firewall, whatevert it is...
    I use wireless connection encrypted with WPA-TKIP.
    I do use the free version of Paragon Drive Backup Express 9.0.
    Thanks!
     
  3. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Use some common sense and you'll be fine with kaspersky imo. You might want to check kaspersky's firewall settings to make sure its set your internet connection to untrusted. However don't do this if you fileshare or similar with other computers on your home network.
     
  4. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Ohmy, you were using DefenseWall weren't you?

    If you're downloading torrents, wouldn't DefenseWall run any unknown file as untrusted, and stop anything from causing any problems?

    But overall, Kaspersky will do the job just fine.
     
  5. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    It seems Ohmy got infected with the security setup hopping virus :D
    What happened to SandboxIE?
     
  6. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Yeah Ohmy, what happened to it? :)

    With sandboxie, you could run your torrent programs sandboxed.
     
  7. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    with sandboxie,geswall or defensewall you should be ok:thumb:
     
  8. Murderlove

    Murderlove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Posts:
    99
    You most certainly are :) . If you are looking for a combination with the above 3, do NOT combine Sandboxie with Geswall.
     
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    :D i know cause it will be murder love:D
     
  10. Murderlove

    Murderlove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Posts:
    99
    Hahaha!:D

    On a serious note though SBIE with Defensewall works flawless.
     
  11. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    yeap i have those 2 running without any problems:thumb:
     
  12. Ohmy

    Ohmy Guest

    Hi,

    I'm using DW and SBIE together on a different PC. :)

    I feel safe with DW,SBIE, thats why I'm not asking any question about that.

    Sorry for not being clear.

    It's kind of odd that I feel safe without an AV. :eek:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 27, 2008
  13. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    This I can confirm, Not a good idea to do.

    This I can also confirm, Superb combo. :thumb:
     
  14. Murderlove

    Murderlove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Posts:
    99
    Then that PC is in my opinion safe(of course common sense plays a role as well)


    With the configuration you have written in your first post I still would add SBIE or DW because of the P2P. But I do not know the ins and outs of KIS2009 and if SBIE and DW are fully compatible with it(I think they are, but you never know). Perhaps someone else can elaborate on this as well?

    I am slowly working to a setup that has no AV as well. If I ever take that step remains to be seen.:D
     
  15. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    I can only only say for DW- yes, it's compatible with KIS2009.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.