A couple of workstations cannot scan

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by brett05, Oct 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. brett05

    brett05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I did a search on the forum, but couldn't see anything like this.

    A couple of my workstations dont react at all when either the 'local' or 'in-depth analysis' buttons are pressed. Nothing happens, no dialog box, nothing.

    I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling via RA console without luck.

    Does anyone have any ideas here?

    Cheers, Brett
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi Brett, what about a command line scan, can this be invoked? If so, does that particular machine come up clean?

    What previous antivirus was on those particular machines?

    Cheers :D
     
  3. brett05

    brett05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Yes, command line scan could be invoked. There were several threats detected which have been cleaned. The behaviour still exists where nothing happens when clicking on either of the scan buttons.

    Previous AV was Vet Antivirus, which has been uninstalled.

    Cheers, Brett
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Now that the system in question is clean, what happens if you uninstall and reinstall NOD32?

    It has also been suggested to do a System File Check:

    Start> run type in CMD, when the black window opens type in sfc /scannow

    SFC (System File Checker, a part of Windows File Protection) will replace any changed/damaged system files with a clean copy. SFC may not solve every problem, but it's a good start that anyone can do.

    Also please repair your Registry Permissions as many types of malware can corrupt them.

    Cheers :D
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2006
  5. brett05

    brett05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Thanks for that. I'll give all of those things a try.

    Cheers, Brett
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.