A cheap processor for editing and encoding

Discussion in 'hardware' started by Sherlock_Holmes, Oct 17, 2015.

  1. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
    My friend needs a cheap processor for under 8000 Rs or 123 $ . He is very constrained on money right now so the price cannot be increased . I am thinking i3 4130 , is there a better alternative ?
    His main use is gonna be video editing , rendering , image editing compositing , basically photoshop , premiere pro and after effects .

    edit - he has a measly gt520 for gpu , will it be necessary with 4130 or 4130 has a better integrated gpu ?
     
  2. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,265
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    You cannot just buy a processor and hope it works. It all depends on what the motherboard supports and that is determined by the socket type (typically designated by the number of pins) and the chipset.

    So the very first thing you MUST determine is the motherboard brand and model number, then you can determine which CPUs it supports.

    The i3 4130 requires a LGA1150 socket, for example. But some i3s require LGA1155. There are several other socket types used by Intel, then several more by AMD.

    So post back with the motherboard specs and we can help you from there.
     
  3. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Sorry was not clear in my post , we first are selecting processor for the job and then will buy a new mobo compatible with it , the current mobo and processor are too old that he is using
     
  4. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,265
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    It is typically much easier the other way around. That is, pick a motherboard that supports either Intel or AMD, then pick a CPU supported by the motherboard. This is because motherboard makers post QVLs (qualified vendors lists) of all the CPUs (and compatible RAM specs too) that specific board supports.
     
  5. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    USA
    Intel's on-board graphics is king for transcoding, even over a discrete GPU. Look for transcoding benchmarks and buy the CPU that fits in your budget.

    Additionally, for bitmap editing, you want enough RAM; hence, I would discourage motherboards that only have two RAM slots. This way, if you didn't buy enough RAM at first, you can add RAM without having to remove your current sticks.
     
  6. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,265
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    I think integrated graphics on many of today's motherboards don't get near the credit they deserve. Many even do a decent job with gaming - thanks in part to notebooks (which commonly have integrated graphics) marketed as gaming notebooks and "desktop replacements".

    That said, with integrated graphics you do want a decent chunk of system RAM so your RAM does not become a bottleneck due the integrated graphics stealing... err.. "sharing" too much system RAM for graphics processing.

    I agree with the 4-slot motherboard, but that may mean you need a larger board and thus a larger case to support it. So if that is the case, I would urge you to buy at least 8Gb to start (2 x 4Gb) or even 16Gb (2 x 8Gb) to ensure you have enough RAM in the future. Just remember you need 64-bit Windows to support more than 4Gb of RAM.
     
  7. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
  8. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,265
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Well, AMD integrated graphics are good too. But I do like Intel boards based. And Gigabyte is my preferred brand, but ASRock is fine too. But note regardless the brand board, these makers don't put their best integrated graphics on them as they are assumed to be going in general office or POS systems, not one used for editing or coding. They will work, but the performance will be lacking. Of course, you can always add a graphics card later on, as long as the power supply will support it.
     
  9. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Well thanx a lot , is this mobo good - http://www.snapdeal.com/product/gigabyte-gah81ms-motherboard/678560737697#bcrumbLabelId:284 ?
     
  10. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    516
    Location:
    United States
    Not sure about AMD, but for Intel at least, nothing on the motherboard effects the iGPU since the GPU is on the CPU (hence integrated). So basically all Intel motherboards will have identical iGPU performance assuming the same cpu is used. I feel like you knew that though so maybe you're talking about the different iGPU's amongst the different CPU sku's?
     
  11. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    USA
    Get a kit (2 sticks in one package); this ensure the same PCB revision, chips used, compatibility. Look for Mushkin; they tend to be better timings/frequencies at the same price.
    Additionally, that motherboard only has two slots, so upgrading isn't a feasible option should you need to.

    Re: CPU. Look at transcoding benchmarks; there may actually be a better AMD CPU for the same price at the low-end. The iGPU is on-die (the Southbridge ceased to exist years ago); the motherboard only needs to provide the video connector (ensure it has one, some don't).

    Re: Gigabyte. I don't know about their budget models (I'll assume build quality is about the same) but their higher end boards are built for reliability and stability--overbuilt. I've not had ASRock but they are popular; I've stopped using Asus (from whom ASRock was formed) around 2006 when their quality tanked (flaky motherboards, cheapened components, BIOS bugs that should have never left the factory because they brick laptops...).
     
  12. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
    There is no mushkin brand that I can find here . Two 4gb ram should be enough for him , so two slots is enough . Gigabyte I have used for a long time and many of my friends and till now haven't had a problem .

    As for comparable amd cpu I found these two options in similar price range - http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Core-i3-4130-vs-AMD-FX-6300 , http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Core-i3-4130-vs-AMD-A10-6800K
     
  13. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,265
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    There are motherboards that support CPUs with integrated graphics and motherboards with integrated graphics that support regular CPUs. They are two different beasts. I was referring to motherboards that have their own integrated graphics using an integrated GPU on the motherboard.
    It is a budget board but that does not imply poor quality or reliability. Gigabyte makes good boards. And if you look on the webpage for that board here, you will see the lists of supported CPUs and RAM for that specific board.
     
  14. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    516
    Location:
    United States
    Huh, I haven't seen one of those for any of the last few Intel generations. Got any links to an example?
     
  15. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,265
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Last few Intel generations? I am now confused. Are you really suggesting "ALL" Intel CPUs have integrated graphics and have had for the last few generations?

    http://ark.intel.com/products/82932/Intel-Core-i7-5820K-Processor-15M-Cache-up-to-3_60-GHz (note for Processor Graphics, it says "None")
    http://ark.intel.com/products/82930...ssor-Extreme-Edition-20M-Cache-up-to-3_50-GHz (Processor Graphics: "None")

    I could find no Xeon processors with integrated graphics.

    FAQ - http://www.intel.com/support/processors/sb/CS-031174.htm - it lists the 4 lines that do have Processor Graphics.

    While certainly most of the latest generation Intels for home computers do have integrated processor graphics, there are still several models Intel makes that don't and many more out in the market channels available.
     
  16. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    USA
    Possibly. We don't know the size and type of images/illustrations being manipulated.
     
  17. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    516
    Location:
    United States
    That's not at all what I said.
    I was specifically referring to this.
     
  18. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,265
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    My mistake. Again, there are a few still in the market channels, but you are correct the numbers are dwindling fast.
     
Loading...