669 "Installation over previous versions of ESET Smart Security is fully supported"

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by LvR, Jul 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LvR

    LvR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    You know - in this day and age where decent QA is expected on paid for software, this particular error during a supposed promised automatic 669 update getting applied to 667 (and most every other version update the same has been promised on before too ) is simply unacceptable.

    With every new release, I keep seeing that users continue to report the update of the latest version not getting successfully applied - just like I again experienced too ..................

    This is what the event log is saying about the problem (just like I have seen others reporting)

    Why can you guys at ESET not figure (just like myself) that the ESET service needs to be stopped first before the update can be applied and then include that instruction in the installer? - why must the user go and manually stop the service before the update can continue and complete?

    Based on repeated personal experience, I beg to differ till you guys get your ducks in a row.:mad:
     
  2. djmorgan

    djmorgan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Posts:
    167
    I add my support for that too! only ever had one clean update on top of previous build all others required un-install which involves stopping services and doing a clean up.

    I also get the same problem with user using a file. \Logs\epfwlog.dat'
     
  3. Jenee

    Jenee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    185
    Every update that I have done on 3 computers has been over the top of an existing version and I have never had a problem. If you are having problems then it is an issue with your PC and not ESS.
     
  4. djmorgan

    djmorgan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Posts:
    167
    What you meant to say was two seperate PCs' with no conection to each other at all, I bet there are more :argh:
     
  5. LvR

    LvR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    Quite an astute observation for a person not supporting the product and with no detail knowledge of the actual code - no?

    You may have, as the owner and person setting up your 3 machines, a combination of settings in ESS and the rest of your systems that make things work just perfectly for you - my setups may differ but that does not automatically point at my PCs.

    The simple fact is that the ESET service is locking the file that needs modification during the update process - nothing else on my system is - so logically the solution is to first stop the ESET service.

    Don't sit there in your isolated corner and preach of things you possibly don't know anything about - software is not as simple as you seem to think it is - we (the people, experiencing and continuing to experience this particular problem) are simply reporting a problem with a (imo) known (ito self investigation) solution and questioning the obvious inability of the installer to cater for whatever is causing this.:mad:
     
  6. Jenee

    Jenee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    185
    The 3 PCs that I have referred to are all networked together and all have many different applications running. Two are XP Pro SP3 and one is Vista Business. One PC has a lot of video software and associated gear attached. They are quite different in their individual setups. The fact that all have had ESS updates over the top of previous versions with no problems just indicates to me that ESS is capable of working correctly.
     
  7. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Read the forums more....:cautious: ESS and EAV have a problem (SOMETIMES) when tryin to update over the top this has been Stated by the MOD's of ESET and by many many Users. this does not ALWAYS happen but it does happen. trust me he is in NO WAY alone. :blink:
     
  8. LvR

    LvR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    .................... and its just happened yet again with the update process to 672 from 669 - 2 machines here.

    Are you guys at support intentionally ignoring the suggestion to kill the ESET service first before the upgrade is carried out or do you just plain not care?

    How many people reporting the same hassle and solution does it take before you guys address the issue:mad: o_O?
     
  9. kC_

    kC_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    452
    every update ive done, logs folder has said its locked..

    simple workaround = use the free tool "unlocker"
    http://ccollomb.free.fr/unlocker/


    would of course be nice if eset would fix it, but isnt very hard to right click the folder and press "unlock"
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If someone is able to replicate this problem at any time, please let me know. A complete memory dump might shed more light.
     
  11. LvR

    LvR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    Given my history and the repeatability seen, I feel sure I can instigate the problem by doing a 672 "upgrade" onto a current 672 installation.

    Say what exactly you need/how to get, and I will do my best to produce data
     
  12. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    I have had the same here all the time, thats why I decided to always uninstall, but even than those logs were stopping ESS from being uninstalled. Only workaround I found so far - use unlocker - but I am 100% with th guys suggesting that eset needs to get the service stopped that has locked those files. In my case its ekrn.exe -which by the way stays on even after uninstall -file is still there and to be able to delete it,one has to stop the service first.

    I tried with logging, without logging -and this is a new xphome setup sp3 in german
     
  13. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    by the way,same is true for virlog.dat,warnlog.dat -all in the same folder.escan is not locked by that service

    Ruben
     
  14. kC_

    kC_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    452
    easily reproduced.. eset pm me if need help/dumps
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.