5.0.94.0 gui changes dimensions

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by trial and error, Oct 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trial and error

    trial and error Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    the former USA
  2. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,050
    Location:
    USA
    I found that in the many other threads it was explained that Windows 7 will only save the size/position of one window, which I found to be correct. So whatever the last window was that was save the ESS UI will pick that up. You ask why this doesn't happen to other products? I'll tell you why. The other products use a fixed window that does not allow resizing.
     
  3. trial and error

    trial and error Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    the former USA
    Thanks for that, yea when I look at an ESS log I'll stretch the window left and right out towards the edge of the screen. That rectangular shape for the log is not what I'm seeing though. :cautious: It's as if the resolution resets from 1920 x 1200 down to 800 x 600. A window size that I've never used on this new ssd except setup when the adm screen opened for the first time and I had virgin Win7 installed.
    So is it that ESS goes to an 800 x 600 gui if I mess with it?
     
  4. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Yeah its a known bug. It happens on both of the machines I have ESS on.

    One is Windows 7 32 bit and the other x64. Annoying yes. Effecting my protection level, no. So I will deal until Eset gets it fixed.
     
  5. trial and error

    trial and error Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    the former USA
    Yep, I am pleased with the function of ESS this time around. I forgot to mention that xxJackxx was perceptive, the K brand I've used for a while remembered the change I made to the log window without affecting other ones.
     
  6. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Though Windows 7 in MS mad wisdom does not remember individual folder sizes, ESS is not a folder its an Application like Notepad or WMP or IE or Win Mail and Win 7 DOES remember them all individually!

    Funny how ESS 4.2 was fine! ;)
     
  7. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,050
    Location:
    USA
    True but I have seen this with notepad and WMP as well. And though it was less likely, I actually have had this issue with v4. They could save and the load size/position in the registry or something. We'll see if they choose to do so. Or they could just make the main window a fixed size.
     
  8. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Yes on occasion v4 could move due to me using a Sony FW900 CRT and fact I change RES's to game etc where as a LCD user will no doubt be running its 1 native RES! :)

    V5 does it about 50% of time I check each restart!
     
  9. xan K

    xan K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Posts:
    152
    Location:
    Dominican Republic
    Eset should fix this bug. IMO, Windows' "folder sizes" is a poor excuse.
     
  10. trial and error

    trial and error Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    the former USA
    I couldn't agree more xan K.
    I haven't adjusted a log size since before my first post and it's happening every time I open it now.
    I like to be constructive, see no advantage to being otherwise, but you're right.
     
  11. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    As stated elsewhere in the forum, the issue is under investigation.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.