40gb Image to 80gb HD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by starsfan09, Jan 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. starsfan09

    starsfan09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    352
    Hello guys, I need your help with this one.

    Computer:: Dell Dimension 4700, XP Professional Sp2

    Scenario::
    Reinstalled XP, and updated all drivers, and etc. on a Samsung 40gb HD.
    Used the Acronis Boot-CD to make an Image of the 40gb HD.
    Then decided to Restore (test) the Image to a WD 80gb HD.

    The problem I'm having is ... the "Unallocated" size not freeing up the space on the 80gb HD. Originally, the "Unallocated" size on the 80gb HD was the Windows default of 7mb, .....and now...it's 37GB after Restoring the Image to it.
    What are the steps I should follow to get this Unallocated space to 7mb.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 212.png
      212.png
      File size:
      10.7 KB
      Views:
      113
  2. bobdat

    bobdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    316
    Instead of restoring using the 'entire disk' checkbox, use the 'restore partition' feature which allows you to 'upsize' the partition. Just be sure to restore the mbr as though it were a second partition.

    You can't do this prior to TI9.
     
  3. starsfan09

    starsfan09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    352
    I'm using the Acronis v10 4871 Boot-CD.

    Let me run this by you to make sure it's right. When restoring from the Boot CD ...you go through the usual steps. At first you want to "check disk 1: to restore the C:/ and choose MBR and Track 0.

    Then, middle way through the prompts, you get an option to resize the partition. At this point choose yes to restore another partition, and this time check MBR + Track 0 box only. Then resize the Unallocated partition. Right?
     
  4. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    No. Do not select Disk 1. Select the partition you want to restore only. Resize the partition. Then when prompted to "Do you want to restore another partition" say yes and select MBR+track 0 box.
     
  5. starsfan09

    starsfan09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    352
    thomas, I did this.
    When the Boot CD first booted up, I chose to restore the C:/ drive, then it stated it as 'Active'. I then slid the the slider all the way to the right...to maximize the space.
    Then, chose to restore another partition, ...and chose the MBR + Track 0 only. Then proceeded to run the Image backup. I'll post the news here shortly.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2007
  6. starsfan09

    starsfan09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    352
    Thanks Thomas. It worked great!! Acronis worked absolutely brillantly!!
    It freed up the space, and now the 80gb HD reads.

    74.5gb Capacity
    4.79gb Used
    69.7 gb Free
     
  7. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Good to hear you were successful.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.