4.0 beta release date?

Discussion in 'Prevx Betas' started by Habakuck, Oct 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    About the firewall part of Prevx, could you maybe give a clue with what type of firewall we can compare it Joe? For example, name an existing firewall which is comparable. Is it for example comparable to the PrivateFirewall since Webroot also uses that one? Ofcourse I don't expect you to give all details.
     
  2. Rivalen

    Rivalen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Posts:
    413
    Its a thin line in my opinion. I am buying full functional Prevx at the best of its ability today and for 2 years onwards. If you go down the route of providing a "suite" where your FW is one separate component offered as an alternative to other FW it could be OK to charge extra for that if can use my old FW still.
    If you call it Prevx4 and the FW is part of the development for a general better malwareprotection I would like to have the upgrade from best version of Prevx3 to best version of Prevx4 included in my present license agreement whatever technical solutions you choose to be able to give me best protection.

    As I said I feel its a thin line.

    Joe - no need to answer this one. I respect your wish to keep the thread open for discussion, but not participate so much yourself until the real news are due.

    Best Regards
     
  3. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,741
    Location:
    UK
    I would like to think that users of the product have the nous to contact Support when they find that Prevx3 SOL isn't fully functioning with Firefox 4.

    In much the same way that I'd hope Symantec users who don't use forums such as this would contact Symantec Support when they found that Norton Safeweb doesn't fully function with Firefox 4.
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,072
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Don't forget that Joe said that the download size of the program is around 540kb!

    TH
     
  5. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    Yes, it will probably be heavily based on the Windows Filtering Platform (Windows Firewall) I guess, some kind of Windows Firewall enhancer?
    But to be honest I don't care about download size. If it was 50MB (like ESET for example) but really light and unobtrusive I wouldn't mind at all.
     
  6. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,654
    Location:
    USA
    I don't see how they pulled off rebuilding Prevx for V4, and adding additional features like a firewall in a 540kb installer. I would think it would have to access the internet, and download additional needed files for the setup. I'm not just talking about definition files either. I believe someone said it did not, but how could this be?
     
  7. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,476
    Location:
    Hawaii
    My concern is with users who do not even NOTICE that the tiny little "Prevx" icon is missing from the top of their FF window.

    I must confess that I had been using FF 4.x for a couple of days before I noticed the missing Prevx icon. Granted that I am notably non-observant (so says my wife), but there might be folks out there who are even less observant than me.
     
  8. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It does not require additional files to be downloaded (except other languages as it is built in English by default but supports 13 languages).
     
  9. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    As far as I'm aware (and from what I can see on my PCs here), Firefox 3 does not automatically update to Firefox 4 so users won't automatically lose their protection unless they intentionally upgrade.
     
  10. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,603
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    It is just that Prevx magic that we have become used to...plus very efficient use of the Cloud...or so I believe from what I have heard.
     
  11. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,412
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    AFAIK Joe if you have FF set to auto-update,then the version it will offer will be
    FF 4.0. If you manually check for updates, then it offers v4 also. But I hope I'm wrong. I had FF 3.6.15, and had to find, download, and install 3.6.16. I'll set mine to autoupdate, and see what happens, as it might vary for different regions.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2011
  12. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    I have auto update on on Firefox 3.6 It has yet to "offer" me a upgrade to FF4 tho if I do a check for updates it says I can get Firefox 4 if I would like.
     
  13. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,412
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Thanks Fajo, I must be wrong then...I'll see what autoupdate does for me with
    3.6.16. Perhaps, since both 4.0 and 3.6.16 were released together (if that's correct) then if you had 3.6.15 then it updated to 4 at that time? I definitely
    don't recall it offering to install 3.6.16, that's why I had to find it for myself at
    that time.
     
  14. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,659
    Location:
    Outer space
    3.6.16 was released a short time after 4.0, but it doesn't really matter anyway, as FF will only auto-update to new minor versions like from 3.6.15 to 3.6.16, but not from majors like 3.6.x to 4.0 and I think it is even the same for from 3.5.x to 3.6
     
  15. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,979
    As far as understand it, Prevx doesn't do "definition files" as such. Instead it PX5's files, which i "think" is similar to MD5 hash matching ? One reason why things would be compact :)

    Yeah that "on the fly" google translation is a pretty neat trick ;)
     
  16. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We only use MD5/PX5 for quick lookups - we have behavioral profiles and far more verbose signatures for actual checks.


    Unfortunately Google isn't as good as we had hoped so we paid a service to do it for us as I am not decatrilingual :D
     
  17. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,412
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Dank u BoerenkoolMetWorst....I'll shut up then on this, thanks :D
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2011
  18. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,979
    Verbose it is then ;) Thanks

    Just learnt a new word "decatrilingual" :D
     
  19. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,741
    Location:
    UK
    Could Prevx be an educational tool as well? :D (Joke. ;)) Must admit I had to look that one up too. I learnt something new today. :)
     
  20. chrismani

    chrismani Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Posts:
    37
    This waiting sucks......
     
  21. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,603
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    And would you rather that Prevx released unfit software or something that is appropriate in terms of quality? I know what I prefer...and it is very much the latter. All in good time...as I am sure that the wait will be worth it.
     
  22. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    Waiting is a good thing it makes sure the software is set for mass public release instead of mass public crash that can tarnish the Prevx rep.


    Edit: PrevxHelp - removed private information
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 23, 2011
  23. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,853
    So Prevx 4.0 will have a firewall now? Will it be functional in the free version? It would be nice to consolidate and get rid of ZoneAlarm.
     
  24. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
  25. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    hi any one here:D
    is prevx beta 4 ready?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.