3questions about Making/restoring images

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ashrack, Nov 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ashrack

    ashrack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Firstly I installed WinXP and then made a backup of the partition to a network drive thru ACRONIS 8 build 912. Then I deleted the partition with WINXP on it and installed Win2k. And also made a backup, but this time I decreased the size of the partition, to support ACRONIS SAFE ZONE, and put the image in there.

    1. If I restore the WinXP image which is on a network drive will it also overwrite the ACRONIS SAFE ZONE partition?

    2. Any way I could put the WInXP image also in the ACRONIS SAFE ZONE along with Win2k image. ACRONIS SAFE ZONE has enough space to support another image.

    3. Activated ACRONIS STARTUP RECOVERY AGENT, but now I would like a way to disable it as it is eating too much time at bootup(I like my system to boot as fast as possible). Will rather proced with a CD RESCUE DISK.
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    No.

    Restore the WinXP image and make a new image to the Secure Zone. You can't copy anything into or out of the Secure Zone. It's too secure for that.

    Yes, reverse what you did in setting it up. In other words, remove the recovery agent from the Wizard that manages it.
     
  3. ashrack

    ashrack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Just a thought:
    What if I mount the WinXP image to drive Z:
    And then CREATE IMAGE into SECURE ZONE from drive Z?
     
  4. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    I think we need to mention that the only way TI deactivates the Startup Recovery Manager (SRM) is by using the Manage Acronis Secure Zone Wizard to remove the Secure Zone (SZ). However, this will also delete any image contained within it.

    To deactivate the SRM without deleting the SZ/image you will need to carry out a fixmbr from the Windows Recovery Console or download and use the Acronis mbrautowrite file as detailed in the Sticky titled <Please Read Before You Post>.

    Regards
     
  5. ashrack

    ashrack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Sweet.. It works. Did it thru recovery console.
    IT really should have a deactivate switch for SRM.
     
  6. ashrack

    ashrack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Anyone care to reply if this could be possible'
     
  7. ashrack

    ashrack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    No1??
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ashrack,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept my apologies for the delay with the response.

    I'm afraid that you will not be able to create an image of the mounted volume, since Acronis True Image 9.0 allows you to backup only the volumes of the physical hard drives, but not the virtual ones.

    You can find more information on how to use Acronis True Image 9.0 in the respective User's Guide.

    If you have any further questions please feel free to ask.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  9. ashrack

    ashrack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Tanx. I presume that it's the same with version 8 which I currently use,
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.