3667 -- Uninstall before install

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by shieber, Jul 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Apparently you still need to uninstall ATI before installing 3677, otherwise when you try to run it, you get that can't find valid serial number message. Another basic feature we wish they would fix so that we wouldn't have to work around it. Otoh, 3677 lets you edits image tasks again.

    And when you install after unisntall, if you had to enter both ver 9 and ver 8 serial numbers, you still have to do that. (That might seem like a little thing if you have only one machine to update, but I have to update 4 machines to update, so the double rebooting gets to be a pain.) So I'm guessing they got just a couple of things changed in this buld and more builds will be coming over the next few weeks.

    The forum makes the product something you can stick with but it's performance certainly isn't something that you can recommmend to others if your reputation is on the line. When asked about imagin software, I always qualify my response by first saying, all the available programs sort of suck in one way or another, here are the failures and pluses of each. . .
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2006
  2. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
  3. simusphere

    simusphere Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Virginia
    Reading the post you referenced confirms that it does indeed work.
     
  4. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    no, it does not, the poster stated that the old task had to be deleted and a new one created.
     
  5. simusphere

    simusphere Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Virginia
    Well, when I read that he said it worked after deleting it I thought he meant he could edit it afterward. Maybe not.
     
  6. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    Yes, that's what he said and yes it does work in this latest build. Be sure to make a new rescue CD to be safe.

    Uninstalling the old version is always a wise approach with most utilities. Ask yourself this question - is there anything here worth saving? Perhaps with a scheduled task there is information that you may want to record to simplifying re-entering it (days, times, file names etc). Deleting the scheduled task removes the script file associated with it. Recreating the scheduled task creates a new one. With this latest release of True Image 9, build 3677 and installing as I indicated above, editing of a scheduled task seems to work well.

    Bruce
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2006
  7. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    The problem was NOT being able to edit the OLD task.

    Deleting the old task, crearing a new taskk, and being able to edit the new task does not mean that you can edit extant tasks from a previous version.
     
  8. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    That's true Howard, I have not tested that in that I deleted all previously scheduled tasks. With the new build installed all scheduled tasks can be edited.
     
  9. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    With 3677 - I can edit my old tasks.

    As far as the licence problem is concerned, I think there is a difference in downloading the upgrade version versus the full version.

    For the past two versions I've just downloaded the full version licence that I have and have had no problems with the licence and installing over the top of the previous version. Maybe this licence problem only appears with the upgrade version - with the next release I'll download that licence and see what happens.

    Colin
     
  10. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Can you explain which you are calling the "upgrade version" and which the "full version?"
     
  11. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Well I have two licences one that is an upgrade from v8.x and the other is a new v9.x licence.

    Whilst the two files look the same, a couple of versions ago I downloaded the one marked upgrade (on the download page) and found it demanded the old licence and then the current licence. I cancelled the installation and downloaded the version marked on the site as full, this installed without demanding the licence information.

    I suspect it is not the file that is different, but the licence sequence which tells TI whether it is upgrading (I would think from v:cool: or a new full version.

    Well at least we now know what happens if you type v8 and ) too close together!

    Colin
     
  12. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    So you're using the same licensed copy and number on two machines?
     
  13. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    No my laptop has one version and the PC the other.


    Colin
     
  14. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    I guess my point is, once they have verified once that you had the prior version, then that should be the end of it asking for the old serial number.

    That's how most software that I've used works.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.