360 Total Security - English

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ifacedown, Apr 23, 2014.

  1. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Germany
  2. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Germany
  3. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Germany
  4. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Germany
  5. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    422
    Location:
    Italy
    hello,
    is 360TSE still active or discontinued?
    it has not been updated since august 2016...

    instead of 360TSE, it would be nice to have a 360 Basic Security like this:
    - no BD and Avira engines (they can be grayed out on the gui, with an "upgrade" button)
    - no speedup, no cleanup, no toolbox (also greyed out)
    - no ads, just an "upgrade" button on each page of the gui

    i think it makes sense. Qihoo pays for BD and Avira engines, so if you want them you have to either get ads or purchase the premium license.
    if you dont want them, you can have the basic protection for free and without ads
     
  6. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6,103
    It has not been discontinued. Because it has less features than TS, it doesn't need to be updated as often.
     
  7. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,848
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I use 360 Essential and I have none of these by default.
     
  8. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    422
    Location:
    Italy
    true, my suggestion was to have one product and one gui only, with different features enabled depending on the license.
    like this they can keep the pace with the update
     
  9. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    422
    Location:
    Italy
    so the bug fixes i see on 360ts changelog are related to extra features and not to core security?
     
  10. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6,103
    You would need to ask Qihoo that, but I'm sure if there were any serious bugs in TSE they would have released an update.
     
  11. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    422
    Location:
    Italy
    ok thanks :)
    actually, the only differences from 360ts 8 to 9 were related to the premium license and new tools, so i guess you are right.

    considering a cloud-only av with no ads, in terms of both safety and lightness, would you suggest 360tse, tencent pc manager (tav version) or mcafee cloud av?
     
  12. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6,103
    I would go with 360 over Tencent or McAfee. As for TS vs TSE, it depends on if you want to use the junk cleanup or any the other extras included with TS.

    The cleanup module is TS does a very good job of finding junk files and is one of the best junk cleaners in my opinion, but the speedup module is too agressive in what it wants to disable for my liking (but you can ignore items you want to keep).

    If you want to keep notifications to an absolute minimum, then Tencent will be a better choice, as its proactive protection gives fewer alerts than 360 does. But I feel 360 gives better protection.
     
  13. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    422
    Location:
    Italy
    ok thanks :)
    i used 360ts before, but i dont like the ads they placed.
    as far as i know, 360tse doesnt have ads
     
  14. Kid Shamrock

    Kid Shamrock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    229
    360tse has a small ad that shows up on the scan screen while a scan is running. It can be blocked with your firewall if it bothers you.
     
  15. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    422
    Location:
    Italy
    OK, that's what used to be on 360TS too and it's absolutely acceptable in my opinion :)
     
  16. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,473
  17. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6,103
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2017
  18. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,217
    Location:
    Paris
    Imuade- TSE also has the Ads, but they just show up as little boxes, quite inconspicuous, during a scan. I was really critical of any ads being placed, but if this is the extent that they will be used even I can't complain.
     
  19. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    422
    Location:
    Italy
    100% agree :)
     
  20. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,217
    Location:
    Paris
    There is another really cool thing about Qihoo that I haven't ever seen documented or spoken about. Just have to code malware for a demo of it.
     
  21. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    422
    Location:
    Italy
    Good, I'll wait for the video :)

    May I ask your opinion about this question of mine?

     
  22. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,217
    Location:
    Paris
    Not even close- Q.
     
  23. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    422
    Location:
    Italy
    OK, understood :)
    Do you see any issue (or any added-value) to couple 360TSE with VooDooShield?
     
  24. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    422
    Location:
    Italy
    Exactly, what exe do you need to block?
    In the past, I tried with 360TS, but ads were still there, as well as a window popup that came out sometimes...
     
  25. Kid Shamrock

    Kid Shamrock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    229
    PromoUtil.exe is what you need to block with your firewall.
     
Loading...