360 Total Security - English

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ifacedown, Apr 23, 2014.

  1. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    The thing with updates... If you experience zero-to-low amount of problems, it is not necessary to have update zero-second.
    But yes, previous update had a bug which showed it was up to date. It is fixed now.
    But, do remember, auto update kicks in hours-to-days in order to contain problems if they are introduced with the update. It is by design, and a very well thought one.
     
  2. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    I'm out for a few days [think until 12th this month], play nice, and help each other.
    If I have the time and connectivity, I shall pop in from time to time.
     
  3. EternalFunction

    EternalFunction Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Posts:
    40
    today I updated mine, but update says already updated
    avira, latest is 28 Feb
    bitdefender latest is 28 Jan

    weird
     
  4. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    565
    New version is out.

    v6.0.0.1154
    * Enhanced: Product stability
     
  5. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    Please confirm if you still have the issue.
    Please write if you have any firewall/peerblocker enabled and running.
    Please write if custom hosts file manager is running
    Please update to latest version, restart and try again.
    Post back results, thanks.
     
  6. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    718
    360 Total Security 6.2.0.1027
    • Added: Language - Vietnamese
    • Added: Language - Portuguese
    • Added: Language - Simplified Chinese
    • Added: Internet Protection for Chrome 64bit
    • Added: Internet Protection for Opera Browser
    • Added: Internet Protection for Yandex Browser
    • Added: Virus Scan in Safe Mode
    • Enhanced: System Backup Cleaner
    • Fixed: Bug fixes
    http://www.360totalsecurity.com/en/features/360-total-security/
     
  7. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Thanks for the update dawg. I wonder why didn't Total Security Essentials not get updated it's still at v6.2.0.1021

    I'd never install Total Security as it's too bloated for my liking, system optimizers/junk files cleaners/etc. The Total Security Essentials is a pure AV :D
     
  8. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,003
    I like these additional features like cleaner. I can check and clean my PC by one click.
     
  9. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    WOW can you?

    From past experience with these tools bundled in AVs, they have caused destruction to my system and after cleaning with them my Office 2010 would no longer open when I first click on Word, Excel, etc. it would act as if it was just installing and I would see the installation progress bar running, that was with the Registry Cleaner built into BullGuard Internet Security. Many other problems I faced that I can't recall now but all I'm saying it, I personally prefer to use specialized tools from a company that focuses only only that one thing, such as CCleaner. They are devoted towards a cleaning program and they do that really well along with the safest registry cleaner on the planet that never caused any problems when using it to clean stuff.

    I wouldn't trust any AV or Security Suite to touch my system files or registry unless it was a specialized tool for that. Just my 2 cents!

    Give m3h t3h 3$$!3N+4l$
     
  10. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,003
    This one click is OK on my home PC. But I encountered a problem with my MS Office 2010 on my office PC - Word and Powerpoint doesn't start. They popup "not enough memory". IDK is it because of 360 TS as I have there other security progs. I had to download OpenOffice.
     
  11. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    It might be, can you really trust any app to mess with your system files and optimize your registry? there is nothing in the registry to optimize and it won't make your PC faster, might only cause trouble. That's exactly what I mentiond earlier. I had a freshly installed Office 2010 fully updated. Once I ran the BullGuard Registry Cleaner, if I try to run any Office App, it would start installing again as if it weren't installed to start with then the installer progress Window would fail. That's when I learned never to trust any optimizer in any form that comes bundled in AVs / security suites
     
  12. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    534
    Location:
    Belgium
    Maybe you can try a system restore point to get everything working back as normal.
     
  13. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,003
    So you had your problem not with 360TS?
     
  14. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,003
    Thank you. I have better solution: time machine Eaz-Fix :), just my PC is busy to jump back.
     
  15. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    No never tried the TS stuff and wouldn't. After that bad experience with BullGuard, I learned to never touch any optimizer built into a security suite. I use separate tool for that (CCleaner)
     
  16. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,003
    Thank you. Maybe it's a good idea to leave the junk for cleaners, not security guards.
     
  17. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Indeed, a security product IMO should do one thing, protect you. Leave the cleaning/optimizing for specialized people whos only focus is on making and improving those products such as Piriform's CCleaner. You can't have a software development team focus on viruses and security threats + registry entries + junk files cleaning for hundreds of programs and expect it to be stable. Just my 2 cents

    Would you take your car for a tire change at the local cafeteria just because they now claim that they can do it? I'm sure you wouldn't ;)
     
  18. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    20 more days to full one year of using cleaning functions of total security with 0 issues/problems [91 windows PC's], yay me, can't wait for the birthday cake :)

    P.S. Qihoo is not only specialized for viruses/security. They also into mobile stuff, biotechnology, customer tech support, and other research stuff :)
    So, this cleaning thing, I trust them more than iobit, Avg [Tune Up], Symantec, iolo, and other cleaner stuff :)
     
  19. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Why hasn't TSE been updated to the same version of TS? it's still the older 6.0.0.1021

    Also, if I do install TSE for a friend let's say, will it auto update the program automatically or just the definitions?
     
  20. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    When TS updates, it updates more than just virus defs, virus engine, etc, but also cleaning modules, speed up programs list, hence a higher version.
    TSE is just AV with Sandbox, so a little bit less bugs and stuff to update at a time :)
    It should update after a couple of days by itself.
     
  21. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Perfect. I just bought a new laptop for a relative of mine and I'm gonna install Total Security Essentials FTW for him.

    I cannot thank you enough for this product, the only free AV out there with no bloatware, no ads, no junk, no like us on facbeook crap, no requirement for online registrations! You're a true gift!
     
  22. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    Much appreciated your compliments, I will forward them to the guys @ Qihoo :)
     
  23. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    To me, you are Qihoo :D Thanks for forwarding them.
     
  24. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    If you feel having to share ideas for improvement, do tell.

    Public pool to everyone:

    Import/Export configuration/trustlist in case of uninstall/install?

    Yay or nay?

    Detail: Import and export function is used to save current settings and whitelist entries, in case there is a need to uninstall and later install the product again, importing of saved config can save a lot of hours whitelisting false positives.
     
  25. LittleGrandma

    LittleGrandma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Sweden
    Today I installed my first 360 Total Security and so far I'm pleased with its lightness and Avira and Bitdefender engines. Only thing I do not understand is Sandbox. When I set my Firefox into the Sandbox all my search engines disappear. How do I get them back?
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.