360 Total Security - English

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ifacedown, Apr 23, 2014.

  1. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    558
    Location:
    Belgium
    Uninstalled TS
    By all the reasons i mentioned here, also speedUp made no improvements on my boot-time, 360IS is booting faster (about 30 seconds) than TS (43sec) after several reboots.
     
  2. stephentony

    stephentony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    USA
    Yes cruelsister I am aware of some of the issues your bring up and your points are well taken. That in part is why I have used Comodo FW with 360 IS and will do the same with 360 TS. It's a great combination but I would not use IS or TS by itself. The adware issue has existed from the beginning and that would be one of my questions to them, among others. As far as the Avira issue goes I agree that it seemingly brings little to the table with the Bitdefender engine in place. I asked that of Marc and his answer was that they did extensive testing before they decided to add the Avira engine and that detection was improved after they did. Now by how much I didn't ask. Another lesson for me to learn from. He pointed out that Avira's cleaning capabilities also went into the decision. Thank you for seeing what I'm attempting to do. My thinking in doing this in the first place was if there was interest at Qihoo (I didn't think there would be) then I would ease into it slowly. What I mean by that is, and I hope this does not sound silly, but this is a Chinese company and there is a level of distrust between the Chinese and the west that cannot be denied. So my thinking was to start slow with this idea so I didn't scare Marc away from being open and honest in discussion with him. As honest as can be expected from any multibillion dollar company from China that uses the freemium model to generate huge profits by leveraging a gigantic user base through online advertising, online games, remote technical support, system integration, etc. Oh, and thank you meghan, I mean cruelsister for the encouragement. That is much appreciated!
     
  3. garrett76

    garrett76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    221
    I noticed that the software is only 32 bit. Is it good to install on a 64 bit system or could there be some lacks in protection?
     
  4. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    Qihoo 360 products are in the process of implementation with AllMyApps, so users should get notified of new versions once they are released.
    Those are: Total Security [Already implemented under 360 Total Security] , Internet Security and Browser [already implemented under name 360 Browser].
    Just a heads up....
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2014
  5. King Mellow

    King Mellow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Philippines
    Should I run Qihoo 360 IS along with Comodo Firewall? Will there be any conflicts? I'm using Windows 8.1

    Thanks in advance guys! :)
     
  6. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,493
    Location:
    Paris
    If your system is powerful enough to run Win 8.1 there should be no issues at all. I suggest you do the following:

    1). When installing Comodo Firewall pick custom Installation. You can then opt-out of installing Geek Buddy and Dragon if so desired.
    2). After install and reboot right click the Comodo icon and click on Advanced Settings
    3). Then right click the icon again and Disable HIPS; set sandbox to Fully Virtualized.

    I suggest killing Comodo HIPS because it doesn't add anything to system protection and will eliminate popups.
     
  7. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,603
  8. RealNature

    RealNature Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    Well I see there is a new version. But why 360 TS is installing by default in PF x86 folder. Why the devs didn't maked a native x64bit version? Why a emulated version?
     
  9. Tarantula

    Tarantula Guest

    I don't use Facebook and find this FB tab annoying.
     
  10. garrett76

    garrett76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    221
    I'd like to know the same...
     
  11. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Nothing is "emulated" just because it's installed within x86 program files. System drivers are still 64bit.
     
  12. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    Does 360 Total Security need admin rights like 360 IS?
     
  13. RealNature

    RealNature Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    Thx
     
  14. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    558
    Location:
    Belgium
  15. Malware fighter

    Malware fighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Posts:
    253
    my TS is still not updated, wtf ?
     
  16. Malware fighter

    Malware fighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Posts:
    253
    even after update it's stating 3.0.0.12.02, not 03
     
  17. Dru

    Dru Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Posts:
    15
    I think the new version only changed something with the installer as the install file reports 03 but after install the ui still says 02 so you probably are up to date.
     
  18. Rob_2014

    Rob_2014 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Just install it on my home PC, will see how it works
     
  19. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    558
    Location:
    Belgium
  20. Malware fighter

    Malware fighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Posts:
    253
  21. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    790
    Version 4.0.0.2048 is now available. Sandbox is included.
     
  22. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,766

    Where? I don't know why they don't update the main site.
     
  23. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    790
    Just download from the site and it gives you the new version.
     
  24. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,766
    I downloaded it straight from Qihoo and got version 3.

    Same with Softpedia.
     
  25. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    790
    Try here: http://www.360safe.com/totalsecurity/en/101/d

    The new version also can download and install Windows patches. I installed it on a few of my computers and on the XP machine it downloaded 30 patches and updates from Microsoft, some as new a a few days ago even though Microsoft has discontinued official updates. I was unable to get many of these even before April. :)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.