360 Total Security - English

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ifacedown, Apr 23, 2014.

  1. ifacedown

    ifacedown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Posts:
    120
    Location:
    Philippines
    http://360safe.com/totalsecurity.html

    360 Total Security offers you complete protection against viruses and other new type of threats.

    When you shopping on line, downloading files, browsing webpage, 360 Total Security protect you from cybercrime at any moment.

    Furthermore, you can perform one-click cleanup feature to keep your PC in optimal condition.

    Fast checking the overall condition of your computer's safety and healthy in one click.

    Integrated five top award antivirus engines including 360 Cloud Engine / QVMII / Avira and Bitdefender to offer you complete protection and best detection.

    Manage and optimize boot-up applications / plug-ins and services. Shorten your PC boot time, let it get ready soon.

    Helps you to save disk space, cleans junks from your computer and makes it run more efficiently.

    Protect your computer away from malware / phishing / backdoor and new type of threats via fastest and more intelligent cloud technology.
     
  2. testerincloud

    testerincloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    italian
    I noticed that the engine of Avira antivirus does not work during scans (I installed it and I have enabled in the options), you also encountered this?
     
  3. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,015
    Trying it on a Testing Ring...:cool:
     
  4. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    I am more and more curious whether multi AV engines solutions are better than conventional ones (i.e. one AV engine regardless if a solution relies on AV definitions or is cloud based or a mixture of the both) and if they can succeed on a global scale (not counting Chinese users). Qihoo is not the first trying this concept. Baidu (another Chinese) have its application already for years. Here in Europe the Dutch company SurfRight have engaged the similar concept in HitmanPro. Even though it is quite popular application, it is a second/additional layer of protection to the mainstream solutions. Time will tell how Qihoos' applications will be successful ... it's not a sarcasm rather curiosity.
     
  5. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    973
    Location:
    Paris
    Actually it's Qihoo that has had an AV product for years. Baidu developed theirs just a few years ago as a reaction to Qihoo's entrance into Internet Search, which up to then Baidu had well over 90% share
     
  6. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    My bad. Thanks for clarification. :) Though nothing has changed in my curiosity over future of such multi engine solutions.
     
  7. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    Does anyone know if there is a way to offer beta feedback, or get answers from Qihoo? I had changed the mode to Security, and then later to Performance. It seems both Avira and Bitdefender are still enabled. Shouldn't they become disabled on Performance?

    Also, I have to question the level of security when mode is set to Performance. It would seem there would be a huge drop off, unless the other engines are still active via the cloud.
     
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    In general this is what iw as looking for, however, interface despite being simplified is very confusing. Despite changing stuff, i have no clue when or how each engine is used. With 360IS, you knew that very well with nearly zero effort and settings were also very clear. Not here. I also hate all the cleaning crap that i don't need. I just wanted BD+AVIRA engine along with all the in-house engines.
     
  9. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,067
    Probably the way it works is that when you set the performance mode, avira and BD will only work under on-demand scans.
    But as you said is quite confusing.
     
  10. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    And Win8.1 Action Center is showing that all my protection all of the sudden disabled itself even though 360TS shows its all enabled.
     
  11. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,166
    I tested it yesterday on my windows 8.1.1 and it sucked. I tried 5 malware links with and 360TS did not warned or blocked any from downloading or running it. I tried a custom scan and it detected 2 of them via custom scan. So it still needs work and I feel it seems inferior to 360IS. Was disappointed. Although its tools for cleaning and optimizing worked like a charm.
     
  12. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    Reported on Facebook page, their response:

    Thanks for reporting this issue. We’ll resolve it soon.
     
  13. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Anyone knows if Proactive defense is still there? There is no indication of it in the settings.

    I'm also wondering how could i know if both, AVIRA and BitDefender along with all their engines are being used for both, on-access and on-demand and not just for one or another...
     
  14. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    525
    When I add the Avira engine I see 360's RAM usage go up nearly 200 MB and I have found no improvement in detection over just using the BitDefender engine alone.
     
  15. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    No indication in the settings, but there is Behaviour Blocker in the Main Menu>Log
     
  16. Eggnog

    Eggnog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Posts:
    94
    Location:
    United States
    I tried it yesterday in a Win 7 64-bit VM I have. Windows Action Center did not recognize that an AV was active, even though 360TS was up and running and enabled. Looks pretty spiffy, and has potential, but isn't ready for prime time.
     
  17. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    973
    Location:
    Paris
    RejZor- For whatever reason the Proactive defense module isn't fully implemented in this beta. This can be easily demonstrated by running any trojan that will create an autostart function for a spawned daughter (payload). Qihoo IS blocks this with ease, Qihoo TS is unaware and will allow it.

    As the Qihoo IS Proactive module is fairly good I'm sure that it will be fully active in future builds, as well as some sandboxing functionality (note that the TS install routine will drop a "360SANDBOX" directory, but as it is established as a hidden system directory it may not be readily apparent). Until these changes are implemented I certainly wouldn't suggest that any use Qihoo TS on production systems.
     
  18. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Thanks a lot for the valuable feedback! A pure beta, indeed.
     
  19. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,166
    Thats why in my short test it did not detect and blocked an of the malwares I tested. The proactive module sucks in 360TS.
     
  20. stephentony

    stephentony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    USA
    I installed Qihoo 360 Total Security using the Security mode setting with both Bitdefender and Avira engines installed and activated, and it seems to do a good job, if not nearly as impressive as 360 Internet Security, still quite capable for a beta and it will improve. The Performance and Balanced modes are not nearly as effective and that's an understatement. Security mode also adds the "Scan File When Opened" setting. The pleasant surprise, at least on one of my two test PCs, is that Security mode with both engines installed, runs incredibly light. This is not a system resources hog by any means and Windows 7 boot times are very fast. This is a very average PC in terms of performance. Again, you mileage many vary. Overall I am, if not overly impressed, then looking forward to what Qihoo does with 360 TS as they iron out all the wrinkles. After all it is still a beta product. As cruelsister has stated many times, and I couldn't agree more, if you run 360 Internet Security (configured properly) along with Comodo FW (Fully Virtualized) you have a great security pairing. IMHO I think the same will eventually be true about 360 TS and Comodo FW, but for now Qihoo 360 Internet Security and Comodo FW will remain on one of my machines.
     
  21. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,166
    I think instead of total security, qihoo should have increased the engines of 360IS to 5 and just have that. 360IS is already well developed and great and if only they added the extra 2 engines to it, then no need for total security.
     
  22. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I agree. I don't need silly disk cleaning tools and other garbage. But i wouldn't mind having AVIRA along the BD engine in 360IS. plus the interface, despite of having more options than 360TS, it is just more logical.
     
  23. RealNature

    RealNature Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    Honestly I hate the new interface and even more I hate the Facebook login integrated in main UI. 360IS is a good product(and even better if Avira engine is added).
     
  24. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    Just tried it and it didn't block a single thing, and I couldn't save my setting changes.
     
  25. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,913
    It cannot start Quick Scan on my PC.
     
Loading...