360 Internet Security: FREE Triple antivirus engine, BitDefender included

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by PaulBB, Jun 11, 2013.

  1. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    Oh you are using IS, not Total Security.
     
  2. Smiggy

    Smiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    237
    Location:
    The Angel Isle
    Er yeah? "360 Internet Security: FREE Triple antivirus engine, BitDefender included"
     
  3. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    Don't need to be a smart a$$. The conversation had shifted to their newer product.
     
  4. Smiggy

    Smiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    237
    Location:
    The Angel Isle
    Not being a smart 'arse', I read the first page and then skipped the next 70 odd before adding my comments.
    You're the one who replied quoting my post and then insinuated I was wrong in what I'd initially written by stating "That means Avira & Bitdefender are not installed."
     
  5. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    If you actually read the thread, and where the discussion has been, you would understand it was an easy mistake to make.
     
  6. Smiggy

    Smiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    237
    Location:
    The Angel Isle
    Whatever gadge, all I know is the thread title stated what I'd installed, I posted my comments referring to said thread title and the quoted reply told me I was wrong.
    I'll now sit and read the previous 75 pages to make sure I don't fall foul of any other pedantic posters!
     
  7. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    Good idea!
     
  8. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    Belgium
    I think i will skip Total security, 360 internet security is allready great and running smooth here for more than 110 days, i see no special reason to switch to TS only for one extra engine from avira
     
  9. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    Does anyone know if there is a 64-bit installer of Total Security?

    The website is only giving me a 32-bit installer
     
  10. Wellies

    Wellies Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Posts:
    49
    I prefer 360 IS too and probably won't keep 360 TS. Mostly because 360 IS includes a sandbox, which I think is a good feature. The trouble is I'll have to wait until it's updated for Windows 8.1.1 before going back to it.

    I haven't found a reason for 360 TS not registering with the Windows Action Center. No big deal perhaps because the program is working but 360 IS was OK in this repect.
     
  11. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    No right-click context scanning either, but I think this has to do with the fact that it doesn't fully support 64-bit natively, like 360 IS does.
     
  12. Eggnog

    Eggnog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Posts:
    129
    Location:
    United States
    Yeah, that was a short-lived experiment. I tried it in a Win 7 64-bit VM on one of my Ubuntu machines. Looks pretty nice but it doesn't register as an AV in the action center. I'd say it needs a bit of work before it's ready for prime time.
     
  13. fenson

    fenson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Posts:
    37
    I do like what i see,but it's clearly not ready.I don't need sandbox so that's ok.It's only Beta,so it will get better.They need to fix the Security Center thing,plus add that you can view the results in the start tab when the "Examine" is done.Also the right click context menu not there.I'm on Windows 7 32-bit.
     
  14. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,072
    I just installed Total Security, and at this stage, I'm not impressed.

    The one click scan found various issues, and gave me the option to fix them, but no option to see what was actually found. Because of this, I did scans with the individual modules, so I could see what was being found.

    When I went into the individual modules:

    Virus Scan:
    Two "risk items" were found, one of which was rundll32.exe. I scanned it at VirusTotal, and it was not detected as a threat.
    There was also an item detected as a "System anomaly" which was described as "Malicious residual file in system directory." But it did not list the name or location of malicious file.

    Speedup:
    Found 21 startup items to be disabled, but, I actually wanted to keep them all enabled. Also, there was no option to ignore items so that they would not be listed again in future scans.

    Cleanup:
    Found and 1 gig of data to be cleaned.

    I'm uninstalling it right now.
     
  15. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    When you went there, there's a button called "Manual", which gives you freedom to choose what you want to run or not run. Try it.

    For antivirus, there's a quarantine that shows all items it detected/disabled so you can restore it, add to trusted list etc...
    You can manually add to trusted list files and folders.

    For cleanup, you can select which area of the PC you want cleaned up, or let him do it via Select All, Deselect All and Recommended.
     
  16. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,436
    The best AV for 2014 published by PCMag and a separate review of 360IS

    360IS has got quite decent rating in the test (3,5 from 5) with only complaint about Proactive Defense behavior monitor that displays many popup queries requiring a user decision, for both good and bad programs. Anyway the application is recommended to try, at least. Nevertheless 360IS isn't the editors' choice.
     
  17. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,072
    Yes, I am aware of that. I just wish it wasn't so aggressive when it comes to automatically select items to disabled.

    When it gives a false positive on a file which is a standard part of Windows, it is reason enough for me to stop using it. Also, as I said one of the items detected was not listed. I want to see what files will be quarantined.
     
  18. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    696
    It seems its cloud engine cannot be disabled, right?
     
  19. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    That is the point of a beta, to test and report unusual findings and bugs.
    A sad thing is that they rely on Facebook/email for that and not a forum or something like that.
     
  20. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    Belgium
  21. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
  22. Wellies

    Wellies Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Posts:
    49
    Maybe Qihoo should be contacted and made aware of the much more active discussion taking place about their software in this forum.
     
  23. Scoty

    Scoty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Posts:
    16
    I have Windows 8.1 Update 1 and i read the IS have troubles with the System. Is there any solutuion to fix this?
     
  24. Wellies

    Wellies Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Posts:
    49
    I re-installed 360 IS on my Windows 8.1.1 system because I wanted to take another look at various aspects of it. Unexpectedly, it seems to work OK this time. Could there have been an update without changing the version number? I'll be keeping it installed for a while to see how it goes.
     
  25. tolis14

    tolis14 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Posts:
    21
    Just a question..When I first installed 360 IS and downloaded a file, I saw a popup stating that it was scanning it after the completion of the download. It even asked for a password to scan inside the protected archive. After that, there were not any more popups when I downloaded files and never asked again for passwords to scan inside protected archives. Any clues?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.