3 Processes running with no info???

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by T_Durden, Jun 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. T_Durden

    T_Durden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Posts:
    90
    Location:
    Chicago area
    I am using windows 7 on an hp p6310y and I am looking at the processes running and there are 3 with no image path,User name or description listed. The only thing shown is the memory used and it doesnt seem to change. I googled 1 of them and saw it may be a possible virus or spyware. The 3 are csrss.exe, nvvsvc.exe and winlogon.exe I can open the properties or file path for any of them. The csrss.exe I did find in a program folder but when searched, it showed up in several other places as well. Any info would be great thanks.o_O
     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,980
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    T_Durden, perhaps this info will put your mind at ease:

    csrss.exe - Microsoft Client/Server Runtime Server Subsystem.

    nvvsvc.exe - NVIDIA Driver Helper Service.

    winlogon.exe - Microsoft Windows Logon Process

    I have #1 and #3 in my HPE-210y but not #2. Instead I have WinMsgBallonClient.exe, which is a child process of RAIDXpertService.exe.

    If you are using the task Manager to seek process info, use MS Process Explorer instead, which will render more info on each.
     
  3. T_Durden

    T_Durden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Posts:
    90
    Location:
    Chicago area
    Thanks. I had looked up the first one like i said and was shown to be the name of a virus at one time and that it should be in only one file. As I searched, it was in a few so thats why I ask. The other 2 I couldnt find at all. Thanks for the help. I'll start looking them up with the explorer you posted.
     
  4. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,980
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    T_Durden, you're welcome! Take care.
     
  5. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    One thing to keep in mind is often it's not the name of the process that will trigger it as malware but "where that process is located/running from"
     
  6. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,980
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    T_Durden, forgot to mention that if your hp p6310y came with Win 7 64-bit, in order to correctly run Process Explorer, you need to right click procexp.exe and select Run as administrator, otherwise you won't see all the info. Just FYI.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.