250 gig backup drive slooooow

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by art k, Feb 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. art k

    art k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Posts:
    19
    I replaced an 80 gig with a 250 gig. Now, every backup, it takes forever to check the disk before starting the backup. Is there a way to speed this up?
    TIA, Art
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    What version and build of TI are you using?

    Are you backing up in Windows or from the TI CD?

    Is the 250GB drive using the same interface (IDE, SATA, etc.) as the original 80GB drive?

    Is the backup an image backup or a files & folders backup?
     
  3. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    How did you replace the drive? Was it via clone or restoring an image?

    Have you looked in XP disk management to see the display of partitions looks correct?

    Have you tried checking the disk for errors? What OS?

    You might want to defrag the system drive to get everything together but remove the temp files and system restore files before doing the defrag.
     
  4. art k

    art k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Posts:
    19
    TI V8 B397
    Backing up in WXP
    Both drives are SATA
    D drive is a new 250 gig.
    Backing up C drive onto D drive
    XP disk management looks AOK
    I checked the drive for errors after installing it.
    I've been using TI for several years with no problems.

    Thanks for responding---so far!
    Art
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    art k,

    Could you check your HDs with HD Tune? What are the Maximum Transfer Rates of each HD? Let us know the results.

    http://www.hdtune.com/
     
  6. art k

    art k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Posts:
    19
    HD tune is a nifty program. Thanks for the reference.

    I've attached a screenshot of both disks. Looks fine to me. On the health tab, everything OK.

    I backup every night. Last night I got tired of waiting after 15 minutes of TI checking the D drive and went to bed.

    Don't give up on me!

    Art
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Wow. 91.6 MB/sec for your large HD. Highest I've seen. The 80 GB HD is OK too.

    I've seen HDs show less than 3 MB/sec in PIO mode but that doesn't apply to you. I hope someone knows what is going on.
     
  8. art k

    art k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Posts:
    19
    More information. In TI when I set up a new task, "Partition Analysis" of C: takes about 10-15 seconds. D: takes over 16 minutes. The Windows task manager shows 98-99% idle process. When it finally gets done "analyzing", the backup takes less than 10 minutes for a full backup--about what it's always taken.

    I tried canceling during the "analysis" and it wouldn't quit. Even the Windows Task Manager refuses to shut down TrueImageService.exe.
     
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I'm curious... what does Windows Task Manger show for the idle process during the 10-15 seconds TI is analyzing the C: partition? Is it still high (98-99%) or does it drop because TI is actually doing something?
     
  10. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    This is due to a faulty cable that runs to the hard drive I think. Try another cable and see. Let me know how it goes.
     
  11. art k

    art k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Posts:
    19
    During the C: analysis which is now just a couple of seconds, System Idle drops to 74%.

    I will try a new cable and let you know.......
     
  12. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    Well, I was thinking about your situation why on Earth it would do that. So I reasoned it may be faulty cable. I could be wrong, but it does sound like worthy of a try.

    Please let us know how this situation develops, you have got me very interested in what could be causing this if not a faulty cable.

    And maybe try another port too if its an USB drive. Could be a faulty port?
     
  13. art k

    art k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Posts:
    19
    I put in a nice new (bright red) SATA cable that I happend to have. Same behavior. Nice try.

    I'm going to reinstall TI--It couldn't hurt.
     
  14. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    Faulty new HDD? Bad sectors? Faulty in general?

    Anyway of trying your friends HHD, or someone else' 250GB HDD to see if it behaves the same?

    Have you tried from a fresh install of Windows and fresh install of TI?
     
  15. art k

    art k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Posts:
    19
    Just reinstalled TI-7. Same behavior. Then tried to install my TI-8 upgrade. Hung up in "installing drivers, please wait". I'll bet there is a TI program still running that's preventing the drivers from installing.

    Again, Windows Task Manager can't make the TI processes quit.

    What a mess.
     
  16. art k

    art k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Posts:
    19
    If I wait long enough, the drivers finally install. I suspect the same thing is hanging up.

    If it would do any good, I ran AcronisReport.exe and I could provide the results.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.