2 X 80GB Intel X25-M & RAID 0

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Anthony Eastwood, May 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Anthony Eastwood

    Anthony Eastwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    System SPEC
    CPU Intel Core i7 965 Extreme Edition, Socket 1366 (B), Nehalem, 3.2GHz, Cache 8MB
    Mainboard Asus Rampage II Extreme, Intel X58, Sok 1366, PCI-E 2.0, SATA I/II, ATX
    Memory TR3X6G1600C8D - 12GB (6x2GB) Corsair Dominator DDR3, PC3-12800 (1600), 240 Pin, Non-ECC Unbuffered, CAS 8, DHX, EPP
    Hard Disks 2 X 80GB Intel X25-M, SSDSA2MH080G1, 2.5", SATA 300 MLC SSD, 250MB/s Read 70MB/s Write speed NCQ (RAID 0)
    2 X 1.5TB Seagate ST31500341AS Barracuda 7200.11, SATA 3Gb/s, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache, NCQ
    GPU 1 X 1792MB EVGA GTX 295, PCI-E 2.0 (x16), 2000MHz GDDR3, GPU 576MHz, 480 Cores, HDMI/ 2x DL DVI-I, HDCP

    Optical Drives LG GGW-H20L Super Multi Blu-Ray Writer & HD-ROM Reader
    LiteOn DVD ROM, Black, 48x CD-ROM 18x DVD-ROM, SATA

    Display 24" Dell Ultrasharp 2408WFP Widescreen, LCD1920x1200, 3000:1, 400cd/m2, 6ms, VESA - REV A01, 1080p
    PSU 1000W Corsair HX Series PSU ATX, EPS12V, PS/2, Modular Power Supply, UK Version
    Case Lian-Li PC-P80B Black Super Full Tower Aluminum Case

    OS Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate SP1* 64Bit


    Hello all
    I quite understand the new tech has its problems however am at a loss so I wonder if anyone has experience of this problem ?
    as you can see from my system spec am using SSD Drives " 2 X 80GB Intel X25-M, SSDSA2MH080G1"
    Both drives are Raided to 0 under main board Intel ICH RAID
    BIOS was set accordingly and booted to create Intel RAID 0 and again to begin a fresh installation of vista 64 bit on to the raided drives. Once completed chipset drivers were installed and nvidia drivers loaded last Acronis True Image Home 2009 and boot disk created.
    all completed without any problems.
    to test I decided to image the raided drive from the acronis boot disk
    on reboot boot disk loaded the acronis software I selected to create a full image backup
    and was hit with a message to the effect that the drive had errors on it and I should exit and use my disk tools to check the drive.
    ok back into Windows and run check disks on reboot, they found no errors.
    ran acronis software from inside windows I selected to create a full image backup, this time it completed successfully, I choose to validate the image and this also completed successfully.
    Rebooted from the acronis boot disk and pointed it at the image created in windows and asked it to restore the image but it failed.
    odd acronis sees the SSD drives knows the size yet lists one as unallocated and the other as the sum total of the two raided together.
    not got around to installing just using one SSD un-raided but would be better if I could raid the two and image them.
    If anyone has the same problem your advice would be gratefully appreciated.
    Anthony.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    This is fairly normal for RAID 0 when Linux doesn't correctly support the chipset (the Full Mode version of TI is Linux-based). It sees the drives separately. One will usually show the partition information because it's stored on one of the drives in the first strip. The other will usually show as empty or corrupt.

    There are several things you can do:

    1. If you're not using the latest build of TI 2009, try that first.
    2. Contact Acronis Support and request a build that includes the drivers for your computer.
    3. Try the SafeMedia (Safe Mode) version of TI. You'll need to download it from your Acronis account, install it and create a new TI CD that includes it. This version of TI accesses the drives through the BIOS and may see them correctly. It's usually not too bad for internal drives, but accessing USB drives can be slow.
    4. Create a WinPE CD that includes TI and any necessary drivers. mustang has created a program to make this easy (MustangPEBuilder).
     
  3. Anthony Eastwood

    Anthony Eastwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Hello MudCrab
    I am eternally grateful to you for your time and effort in pointing me in the right direction.
    option 3, :thumb: solved my problem and has now given me the chance to build my system up without the fear of no recovery solution.
    once again thank you, it was very much appreciated.
    Anthony.
    :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.