2 Vista's Questions

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by TairikuOkami, Mar 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Hi, I got 2qs, could you please help me?

    1. Is it safe to keep those 2 components?

    - QoS Packet Scheduler
    - Link-Layer Topology Discovery Mapper I/O Driver

    I need them for Quality Windows Audio Video Experience.

    2. How to start Task Scheduler, which has been disabled by policies?

    http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/845/capture03102007103956mm0.jpg

    Task Scheduler interface will run after above popup, but with nothing on.
    I tried to open it and it opened, after I applied policies, it did not anymore.
    I have to keep TS service due to speech, so I want to open it to set it up.
    Policies - User Rights: 1-st, 2-nd, Security Policies: 1-st, 2-nd, 3-rd, 4-th.

    Running services: 32 Auto (Task Scheduler included): 1-st, 2-nd, and 14 Manual.

    If you know, how to solve the Task Scheduler problem, please let me know. Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2007
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Hello,

    Stop tweaking!!!!!!!

    First, I'm at work, cannot see the imageshack... Will try to help later. Meanwhile, Task Scheduler needs RPC service. Did you disable it via WWDC or such?

    Mrk
     
  3. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Hi, nope, WWDC disables only RPC locator service, RPC service is running.
    I was able to access Task Scheduler until I appllied custom security policies.
    I tried to run TS and it ran, when I aplied policies, I tried again and it did not.
    I guess, that there is something wrong, but there are just too many settings.

    By the way, I have to tweak, otherwise I would have to use security software.
     
  4. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Oh man, I have not got it at first, but you were right, as allways. ;)

    I have done some testing and it was because WWDC disabled RPC ports.
    I never payed atention to it, because when I did this, it said, that it failed.
    Port 135 allways stayed opened locally, so I thought, that it just does not work.
    So I was wrong, not disabling NetBIOS, but disabling RPC disables ports 49152-49157.
    I guess, that one of them belongs to Task Scheduler, which needs one to be listening.
    I will keep it disabled, but at least I know, how to enable it, if I need to access it sometime.

    Thanks again. I am going to find some good english teaching webpage to learn reading better.
     
  5. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Hello,
    Glad you figured it out...
    Cheers,
    Mrk
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.