2 new entries in my startup folder?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by gate1975mlm, Nov 15, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gate1975mlm

    gate1975mlm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Posts:
    156
    Does anyone know why there are now 2 entries for webroot in my Startup folder under All Programs windows 7 start menu?

    And can I remove them without anything breaking?
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      10.5 KB
      Views:
      473
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2012
  2. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    An update to the toolbar? They should go away alone. If you remove them you may not get the update. Just guessing.
     
  3. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    I got them in XP too.
     
  4. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Yes, two of these, since earlier this evening (Windows 8 here).
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Yes, I've got an update to the toolbar in IE10, and can report that it seems to load twice as fast now, from what I've seen :thumb: Think what I posted above may be a new uninstall/clean-up tool alsoo_O And hope we're not mistakenly giving away closed-beta info also? Are these new additions being seen generally?
     
  6. gate1975mlm

    gate1975mlm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Posts:
    156

    I am not running any beta currently.
     
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Strange, I wouldn't have expected those to be added. They are related to the password management toolbar and are likely there to just ensure the newest version is installed correctly. Let me know if they persist for more than one reboot and I'll definitely investigate closer.

    Thanks!
     
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I continue to have them after a few reboots. Win 7x64

    Daniel
     
  9. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    I've still got them too. Win XP SP3
     
  10. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Yes, I have them too. They are quite stubborn :D The both entries link to wruninstall.exe file placed in Program files\Common files directory. Never noticed this file before.
     
  11. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    I also notice the desktop shortcut keeps on rising from the dead. :p
     
  12. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    I am not seeing them, but I can only guess because I don't have "password management toolbar" in the 'basic' WSA (beta) version I am running. :doubt:
     
  13. d0t

    d0t Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    You sure Tarnak? Today when I opened Firefox, WSA installed its addon and I don't use the pass manager. (I'm also a beta tester)
     
  14. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    Hi d0t,

    I have never used Firefox. So, perhaps that is why I don't see it. Thanks for you reply. :)
     
  15. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i have these also one for firefox and one for ie. how do i remove these?? i have the toolbars both disabled and am not using them right now so how do i get rid of these without breaking webrooto_O i dont want these just sitting in the start foldero_O
     
  16. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I'm sure that Joe has taken note so we will have wait for a reply from him as I continue to have them also.

    TH
     
  17. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    You should be able to just delete them without any negative consequences.
     
  18. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Joe, I deleted those files after update to build .43 and after update to build .46 the password management didn't work, it was crippled. I had to reinstall WSA. So if I can speak I wouldn't delete them.
     
  19. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i deleted them ........ rebooted........ and back they were....
     
  20. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Very strange. I'll take a look at this to see what's occurring.

    Thanks for the heads up!
     
  21. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Joe, just to add, Backup & Sync in the main WSA GUI were disabled. I was trying to enable them but to no avail. So I reinstalled WSA and the two startup entries appeared again and Backup & Sync were back in the best condition then.
     
  22. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    for me i cant even delete them for good. when i reboot they come back. i disabled them with ccleaner and they are there but showing disabled not sure what is up with these.
     
  23. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I've found the answer to this: these shortcuts are required. They're part of the WSA branded Lastpass to ensure it can load into each user account on startup, otherwise you may not be able to use it in each browser for each user.

    This looks to be a fairly recent change as I have them on my system as well, but the intent is to make the user switching process more reliable so that it always works in each browser.

    Hope that helps! :)
     
  24. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Good to know as I just left them there.

    Thanks Joe for clearing that up.

    Daniel ;)
     
  25. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,450
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Well, it looks like I am one of the ones that removed these two entries and the file it pointed to as I believed it was leftovers from an update. Will the next update fix this for me or will I have to do a fresh install in order to repair this? The reason I ask is I just spent the last two weeks with support getting all the features of Complete and the web console to function properly for me. I even had to change to a new email twice with two different new key-codes before we finally got it all working. I really do not want that to happen again and it all started with doing a fresh install... Any advice Joe? Thanks...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.