2.06 Official Release

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by Frederic, May 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
  2. mizar

    mizar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    thanks for the reply Frederic...
     
  3. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi Mizar :)

    To have 1024 entries just use this .reg file.

    Make a copy of the lines between ----, paste in a text file with an editor like notepad and save it under the name you want with the extension .reg.

    Then right click on that file and choose "open with registry editor".
    This merge the lines in the registry and you're all set.

    --------------- cut here ------------------------------
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\lnsfw]
    "MaxSPIEntries"=dword:00000400

    --------------- cut here ------------------------------

    :)
     
  4. Memory

    Memory Guest

    Hi Frederic,

    First of all thanks for this free upgrade.
    (You will never be financially independent if you go on like this.)

    I tried this new release on just one of the PCs.
    Everything went smoothly.
    Then I checked the register tab.
    It's still the old registration system. Which is too bad (for me).
    Changing challenge codes keep resetting the valid serial number.

    I discussed my misfortune with this way of registering during the weekend of 3-5 February 2007 with lnssupport.
    And before that in March and April 2006.

    The outcome of the last discussion was that LnS would be registered with a fixed code from the final 2.06 version onwards.
    This code would be an email address.

    Could you please explain what happened ?
    And if the new registration system is going to be implemented or not ?
     
  5. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    The registration system is really changed in the 2.06 as per plan, and as mentioned in the change log (first post of this thread). So I don't understand your point. Of course, you need to contact a last time the support to get a new 2.06 serial based on your email address.

    Since you are talking about financial independence, this change about the serial is actually more important, with potentially more impacts on this subject :(

    Frederic
     
  6. Memory

    Memory Guest

    Sure, I've read the change log at the top.

    But after I installed v2.06 over 2.05p2 on my own PC :

    http://i7.tinypic.com/6cdlbbq.jpg

    I clicked the register tab and this is what I see :

    5yv2ia8 and 2.jpg

    Looks still validated and registered to me, and not a hint of having to contact support for a new serial based on an email address. So I was under the impression that nothing had changed.
    And did not bother installing the new version on the other two PCs.
    But I will contact support regarding this.
    So I can also install it on my son's PC. The one that's having fits with LnS.

    Regarding financial independence, please forget it and except my apologies.
    It was meant as a joke. I forgot that jokes about this subject are rather trifle.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 5, 2007
  7. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
    The transition from old to new registrations is likely being handled by manual means, meaning that Frederic probably has to go through each individual's e-mail and generate the new user's registrations...

    That and the fact switching on-the-spot to the new registration system will leave likely many troublesome, confused... This is why the v2.06 still supports the old registrations, and when 'upgrading' it'll continue to use the old...
     
  8. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    No, problem, I've just taken the opportunity this subject was raised to say few words on that.
    Smileys have been created to signal jokes ;)

    Phant0m is totally right :thumb:

    Frederic
     
  9. Memory

    Memory Guest

    Thanks to both of you for replying.

    Everything is taken care of now.
    One email was enough to receive my serial numbers.
    Two PCs are now registered with the old system. (Yes Phant0m was right.)
    And the schizophrenic PC is now registered and tamed by the new registration system.
    The email and serial combo survived 10 reboots for both Administrator and my son's user accounts.

    About an hour ago, support even solved a little problem I had with registration. On a Saturday!

    Thanks a million.
    Robert
     
  10. copytang

    copytang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    i have downloaded the software ,and i use the version 2.05
    but i experience some trouble :how to decompress the rar,what is the password
     
  11. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
  12. copytang

    copytang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    o sorry,the link can not be found:oops:
     
  13. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
  14. Owen

    Owen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    I installed LnS 2.06 on XP(SP2), and got some messages during the installation process before the reboot. The messages disappeared rather quickly but I think it's to do with not certified with XP or something. Did other people get the same messages?
     
  15. ankupan

    ankupan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    457
    hi,

    nothing to worry, I also got the same messages, but reboot

    it will work and be happy. :)

     
  16. Owen

    Owen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Thanks ankupan. I thought it should be OK, but just needed to make sure :)

    I'm using LnS for application filter only, and so far it's worked great!
     
  17. Riverrun

    Riverrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    ~
    I've just installed it with the enhanced rules and it's running very light, like 5.37 at the moment. Comodo 2.4 which I had been using is four times heavier and I'm amazed at the differance. Hope the protection is good. I suppose I'll find out in time.
     
  18. benjhill

    benjhill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    I was looking to use Look n Stop 2.06 but i found it frustrating that when it starts, it brings up the main firewall page and this has to be minimized.

    is there anyway to get the firewall to start up directly to the task tray so that I don't have to keep minimizing it there?

    Any help please?

    Regards

    Ben
    o_O
     
  19. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
    To have Look 'n' Stop application startup minimised in the systray, visit the Look 'n' Stop 'Options' TAB / screen and select an entry in 'Automatic start', anything below 'None'.

    Also if the 30day-Trial has expired, you need to license it, for full functionality and to stop the annoyances with the main screen appearing on Windows start. ;)
     
  20. Mark Klomp

    Mark Klomp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Posts:
    61
    What about next version of LnS to be KERNEL LEVEL? Just like AppDefend. It's much more safe than user level, and you'll know it will always be loaded, actually from REAL startup till shutdown. The firewall will become one with WINDOWS OS. I find this solution the most hassle-free.
     
  21. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi Mark,

    Actually, it is already the case. The Look 'n' Stop drivers are executed at kernel level and started during Windows boot.
    If you enable the two "persistent" options from the GUI then both filtering are executed even if Look 'n' Stop application is not running.

    Regards,

    Frederic
     
  22. Leonardo_daVinci

    Leonardo_daVinci Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    Frederic


    Am evaluating your product in order to replace Sygate 5.6.3408 which has no IPv6 filtering. (and represents a higher overhead than the built in Windows XP which has no outgoing monitoring. Tried Ghostwall but it does not block applications.)

    In https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=182884 it was mentioned to me that Looknstop can be configured to only check outgoing traffic.

    How to configure this?

    Many thanks in advance
    L.
     
  23. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Leonardo_daVinci

    Uncheck the check box that where Internet filtering is enabled. :- Look'n'Stop Internet Filtering


    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2007
  24. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi Leonardo_daVinci,

    There is normally no issue to let anyway the Internet Filtering enabled, especially if you are just using the standard ruleset.

    Additionally, if you want to have some IPV6 filtering, it is better to have the Internet Filtering active.

    Regards,

    Frederic
     
  25. Leonardo_daVinci

    Leonardo_daVinci Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    Thanks Frederick and theQuest for your replies.

    Apologies for late reply, have not been well and this subject had escaped my attention.

    Let me clarify this:
    1) Am I correct in understanding that LooknStop can be used together with the standard XP-SP2 firewall?
    2) If I use the XP firewall and want to increase my security (I want to check the outgoing traffic) then all I have to do is to install LooknStop and disable in LooknStop the incoming traffic filtering?
    3) Re: Frederick's answer: Are you trying to tell me that I can run both LooknStop and the XP firewall for incoming traffic? Won't that conflict?

    Frederick's answer has me confused and I just want to make sure I understand the other part of the replies correctly.

    I want to do this properly and not finish up with bad security. (At the moment I am running Sygate 5.6.3408 and am happy with it but I know the IPv6 is not filtered so I am searching for a reasonable alternative. Tried Ghostwall and that was not exactly what I am looking for.)

    There is a lot at stake for me, not just avoiding a bit of a intrusion. Any interuption in the proper functioning of my machine can turn out a disaster for me.

    Many thanks in advance
    Leonardo
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.