1 - I need a boot.ini file

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by sahibvirk, Jan 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sahibvirk

    sahibvirk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    Hey people.....
    This product will make me crazy..................

    I uninstalled the DDS10 and then reinstalled it.

    I earlier had these operating systems:-
    hdd1:
    1. windows 98
    2. windows xp (first)
    hdd2:
    1. fedora core-4
    2. windows xp (second)

    Yes, I have 2 harddisks and 2 windows-xp OS's on one system.


    I have lost two operating systems after reinstalling now.......
    1. window 98
    2. windows xp (second)
    Ofcource this is because I set winxp(first) as my default OS to start after uninstalling.

    please give me the boot.ini file, and also tell me if you need any information that you need to know about my system. I will send you.

    Please can you solve my problem alil faster.
     
  2. sahibvirk

    sahibvirk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    I have attached the acronis report file...............................

    Please reply.......................
     

    Attached Files:

  3. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    To recreate the boot.ini file, you can do it the hard way (that is write it out yourself, but you'd need a floppy so that you could copy it to the right place) or the easier way which is to let the XP bootcfg utility do the work for you.

    Using the XP install CD, boot into console mode

    Log on to the XP install you want as default (that is under the ADMIN password)

    Assuming you don't have an MBR problem, type fixboot and then bootcfg /scan or bootcfg /rebuild (note the space between the / and bootcgf)

    XP will find each installation and ask if you want to add it.

    When finished, remove CD and reboot.


    It may have set the wrong OS as default - but this is easily remedied.

    Press the Windows button + PAUSE/BREAK keys and system properties will pop up, click on the advanced tab and then click on the bottom button in the System Start up panel, click on EDIT and change the entry marked default.

    Here is one of my boot.ini files.

    [boot loader]
    ;timeout=20
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect /sos /noexecute=optin
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(2)\WINDOWS="winXP test" /fastdetect/sos
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(3)\WINNT="W2K" /fastdetect
    ;
    ;


    Ignore the SOS flag, yours probably will not have that entry.

    Colin
     
  4. sahibvirk

    sahibvirk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    NOPE............................

    This did solve the problem a lil bit.
    I got the winxp (second) back.
    But win98 which is still in c: is still not detedted. Not even by the fixboot and bootcfg commands. It only detected the 2 xp OS'a.

    I really cannot afford to loose this win98 OS. I have got very important and costly softwares and data in it.

    Somebody help me please........................
     
  5. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    And did you look at or try to edit boot.ini, as bodgy suggested ? How about posting your boot.ini file ?
     
  6. sahibvirk

    sahibvirk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    1. I have no boot.ini files in the two winxp partitions. But I have got "boot.ini.backup" files in there.

    2. I have got a boot.ini in win98 partition (c:).

    What to do.................
     
  7. sahibvirk

    sahibvirk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    there is too many boot.ini in c:

    but I think this is the real one:-
    I found it under:-
    C:\BOOTWIZ\40ebee05

    it is attached......................

    this is what it is like:-
    [boot loader]
    ;timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(3)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(3)\WINDOWS="SAHIB XP"
    ;multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="WINDOWS XP PROFESSIONAL" EXIT
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(3)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
    ;multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
    ;C:\="Microsoft Windows"
     
  8. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    According to your boot.ini you have two harddrives and 3 partitions.

    The W98 install is the last entry in your boot.ini and it is commented out.

    If it is on disk 0 then change the default line to read default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS . Though OS10 seems to think it is all on disk 1 ---- if that's the case change the 0 -> 1

    Colin
     
  9. sahibvirk

    sahibvirk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    I just saw hell............

    Sorry, but:
    Since nothing was working for me I went to hell. And I really mean it.

    All right I thought that I would reinstall win98. So I backed imp. data.
    And then what I did was my biggest mistake ever. I formatted c:.

    I lost the boot.ini.
    I could not boot into anything even with acronis.

    Cant tell you what I went under............all that tention.........the frustration....

    But after a struggle of many hours, somehow I managed to get everything working.
    Don't wanna tell you or even remind myself about what happened. That scares me.

    As for now:-

    1. I managed to make acronis work perfectly.

    2. I just wanted to know that is it possible for me to install win98 again in c: without damaging anything including the acronis OS-selector.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2006
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.