Security: Is Linux Mint as Secure as XP with Protection?

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by chinook9, Feb 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chinook9

chinook9 Registered Member

I this in the "Other Security Issues & News" section for a couple of days. I did get a couple of good responses but I was hoping for a greater variety of responses.

I have been using a variety of security software for a few years now.

I just built a new XP machine which I made dual-boot with Linux Mint Helena and Windows XP. I thought when I built it I would use Linux most of the time, but I find myself using XP because I'm so comfortable with the protection I have on it. My XP protections are as follows:

1. Hardware firewall
    2. DefenseWall Firewall
    3. Panda Cloud Anti-Virus
    4. MalWareBytes Antimalware (sometimes realtime and always on demand scanning)
    4. Sandboxie for Firefox 3.6 with with WOT, NoScript,and KeyScrambler
    5. KeePass (and Roboform) for my password
    6. Separate sandbox for any financial transactions.

All of the above works well together and I feel very well protected.

With Linux Mint, I turned on the firewall, Otherwise my only protection is that malware writers spend almost all of their time exploiting Windows XP.

Am I better protected with the Windows XP setup or Linux Mint? I definitely feel more protected in XP.

Will Avast or Avira run on Mint...or is ClamAV just as good?
    Do they slow Mint down?

2. Kerodo

Kerodo Registered Member

You may "feel" more protected in XP, but I think you're much safer in Linux Mint, where nothing can or will happen to you at all. Just put a router in front of your PC and you're all set.

3. chronomatic

chronomatic Registered Member