Understanding what is in my consolidation

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by JCalvert, Jun 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JCalvert

JCalvert Registered Member

Please explain. I am new to Acronis True Image Home but not computers.

I have taken 3 backups of drive C:\
    1) A full backup on Sunday called MyFile.tib
    2) An incremental on Monday called MyFile2.tib
    3) An incremental on Tuesday called MyFile3.tib

As a test to understand the product, I executed a consolidation to a new file called MyNewFile.
    Acronis asked me which files I wished to keep and I checked only MyFile3.tib.
    It ran successfully and I now have MyNewFile.tib.

Question #1) What do you mean by "keep" in this context.
    Question #2) What exactly is in MyNewFile.tib? Is it the contents of all 3 original files?
    Question #3) If I restored C: using either the original backup ( 3 files ) or the the new consolidated backup (MyNewFile), would C:\ be identical to what was there on Tuesday?

Extra Question: If I had taken 1 Full backup and 6 incremental backups ( 1 each day called File, File2, File3, etc. ) and then wanted to restore my C drive to Wednesday, how would I do that? Assume the first was taken Sunday.

Many thanks. :doubt:

2. JCalvert

Hello Acronis Support. Maybe you need more data to respond to my request.

I am using:
    1) Vista 64 bit SP2
    2) Acronis True Image Home (Version 12.0.0.9709)

Many thanks

3. Acronis Support

Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

Hello JCalvert,

Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image Home!

Each backup is a restoration point. So, if you check to "keep" a backup that means that you want to keep that restoration point and consolidate all the previous backups. Consolidation affects only the backups older than the last checked backup of the sequence. You can choose some restoration points to be kept.