I'm Not A Newbie - Why I Joined This Forum!

Discussion in 'Forum Related Discussions' started by DasFox, Jan 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DasFox

DasFox Registered Member

In the past when I've posted I've had the bad habit of just simple asking, "Which is the Best", and those that have seen my post know it. You know why? Well one, I'm not a newbie, and I made the assumption that I thought most people around here were not either.

I've been a Windows geek for 20 years, and a Unix geek for 10.

I joined this forum because I thought there are real geeks here with real answers, not the, well it's best because I like it, blah blah blah.

NO don't get me wrong here, I'm smiling as I make this reply, but HONESTLY if everyone here is just going to tell me to go out and read on the web, well then my reply is, "I already know how to surf the net, I've been surfing it since the day it was born."

Let's be HONEST here, just because someone slaps up a site and adds reviews doesn't mean you can trust it either, and now people are getting smart and putting up scam review sites all over the place to get you into buying their crap, or spyware.

The other side to this story is none of the major players, I mean the big names in AV software like putting up anything either because they know their program won't stand up to everyone, so all you see from them are small reviews against a few applications they know they can beat, just what you call good, "Guerilla Marketing", nothing more at times then their marketing propaganda.

So when it comes to surfing and reading and researching I can do it with the best of them, but when it comes right down to it, nothing beats first hand experience from experienced people, and I thought EXPERIENCE is what we had around here, so I could just ask the questions and get some simple answers, but I see it's not working, LOL.

THANKS

P.S. Don't take the post negative, remember I'm smiling. :)