securing a laptop in case of theft?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by silverfox99, Jul 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. silverfox99

silverfox99 Registered Member

Hello. Apologies if this is in wrong thread or already covered elsewhere. I have NOD32, Spybot, Ad-Aware etc for virus/spyware/malware protection, however what should I do to protect data from theft?

A friend recently had a laptop stolen and it caused him no end of hassle as he lost data which included bank details etc. He suggested that I scramble my hard drive data and put on a logon password for booting up but I'm a relative newbie - can you point me in the right direction for how to protect my data if my laptop is stolen?

2. YeOldeStonecat

YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    http://www.lojackforlaptops.com/

Helps in recovery. Even a format won't rid it.

Other things you can to do prevent amateur people getting at data...don't leave the Administrator account with a blank password (one of the many reasons to never do this)..and have a decent password on your other accounts.

3. TairikuOkami

TairikuOkami Registered Member

I would sugest to use some freeware encryption software like AxCrypt or TrueCrypt.
    Use passphrase instead of password (passphrase generator) & at least 8 characters.

Setting up password will help to prevent newbies to get access to your data, but normal users will not have problems. They can just access your HDD via other PC or just reinstall Windows.

4. NOD32 user

NOD32 user Registered Member

DriveCrypt is the best I've seen, but then I'm a reseller... :)

5. TNT

TNT Registered Member

You're kidding, right? That won't protect data from anyone but 3-year olds. With physical access to the disk and hardware even a 300-chars long "logon" password won't prevent anyone from accessing the actual data on the disk.