ZoneLabs depresses me..

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Straight Shooter, Nov 29, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I thought I might try out the new version of ZAPPRO 3.5, since I own a license to it (I bought it through digital river's site on May 27, of this year). Finding Bin Laden is probably easier... I tried to get it from Zonelabs site, and I can't get it without paying for it. I tried digitalriver, no phone # and no answers to my emails.. Is there a team z guy out there (or gal) who can help me out..? Thank you..

    Maybe I'm just asking for trouble...
    :blink:
     
  2. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    Here ya' go !
    http://www4.zonelabs.com/download/zapro35beta/

    Don't forget to report any "issues or problems" to the "FeedBack" report !!

    regards,
    bill ;)

    BTW....I like it !! :D
     
  3. I like it too, and I have been using that and Outpost Pro, and what they did to ZAPPRO Lately really improved the runability of the program, so I may go back to it for good. If it wasn't for the availability of this forum I probably wouldn't.. One question, is this a beta? I saw on the www.zonelabs.com site that ver 3.5 is being sold, not as a beta, I presume..

    Thanks for being there..
    "Shooter"
     
  4. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    That URL I posted will lead you to the beta download of 3.5.
    The Retail version must have just came out recently. I didn't know !! o_O
    I can't tell you if their is a difference or not ! Chances are the Retail version (3.5) has the bugs ironed out !!

    regards,
    bill ;)
     
  5. Okay, I'll wait until Monday and call them / or digital river...
    I like ZoneAlarm, generally, now that they worked the monstrous bugs out, the program runs great.. I noticed some of the problems people have with ZAPPRO 3 could probably have been solved if they read the manual..
    I will post how to get the updated version over here as soon as I find out, unless you beat me to it!

    Thanks
    "Shooter"
     
  6. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    Shooter,
    ZAP 3.5 beta ver 35.1.32
    ZAP 3.5 Retail ver 35.1.66

    You can get the trial version here,

    http://www.zonelabs.com/store/content/company/products/zap/trial/zapDownloadTrial.jsp

    regards,
    bill :)
     
  7. Much Obliged! I REALLY Appreciate it! I TRIED EVERYTHING! I don't know how you found the link, but THANK YOU!!!

    :D
     
  8. NOW THAT's MORE LIKE IT!

    ;) :D ;)

    This new version ROCKS!!!!

    I tell you, this one is MUCH lighter on resources, has a beautiful new wizard to detect new networks, and the site list customization is even better! ! ! !! ! !! ! To anyone out there, if you haven't tried this one, try it! I downloaded the trial version, punched in my license key, and I'm rocking!!!
     
  9. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    Glad to hear !! :D

    regards,
    bill ;)
     
  10. CARCHARODON

    CARCHARODON Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Posts:
    68
    Location:
    Portland, Or. USA
    I'm running 3.1.395.... when I run check for updates it says I'm up to date.. If there is a new version shouldn't I be notified... what's the deal?
     
  11. Loki

    Loki Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Posts:
    193
    Location:
    Lake Worth, Florida, USA
    Hi CARCHARODON,

    It normally takes a few days for the update feature to show the new version. You can download from the link posted.

    Loki :cool:
     
  12. CARCHARODON

    CARCHARODON Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Posts:
    68
    Location:
    Portland, Or. USA
    gotcha, I didn't realize it was just released.. thanks loki
     
  13. CARCHARODON

    CARCHARODON Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Posts:
    68
    Location:
    Portland, Or. USA
    I just installed the new version... I didn't see anything new, is it just bug fixes.. or am I missing something?
     
  14. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,843
    Location:
    New England
    CARCHARODON,

    You don't appear to be alone on this. The difference is subtle according to what I've been reading. Or, at least you need to look for the "Advanced Program Controls" to see it. (I have not tried it myself yet.) First, just what version does it say you are running now?

    Also, take a look at these links for other questions and answers on the new ZAP and whether you are running the variant that has the new functionality...

    Zone Alarm Pro 3.5--What's new?
    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,5158751~root=security,1~mode=flat

    ZoneAlarm Pro Version 3.5 Released To Public
    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,5168026~root=security,1~mode=flat
     
  15. CARCHARODON

    CARCHARODON Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Posts:
    68
    Location:
    Portland, Or. USA
    I running 3.5.166 now.. thanks for the links, I'll check them out.
     
  16. CARCHARODON

    CARCHARODON Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Posts:
    68
    Location:
    Portland, Or. USA
    interesting... let me get this strait, i have to pay an extra $10 to get web filtering in ZAP, even though i already own it...did i read that right?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.