Zone Alarm Pro 3.0.118 attempts connect

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by sawman, May 19, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sawman

    sawman Guest

    I have a windows 98 machine networked with a linksys router to an xp machine, sharing a cable modem. I am running zone alarm pro 3.0.118 on the 98 machine and zone alarm free on the xp machine. When I reboot the 98 machine I get these outgoing connection attempts by Zone Alarm Pro listed in the zap log:
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:42 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,204.127.202.4:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:42 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,204.127.202.4:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:42 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,216.148.227.68:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:42 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,204.127.202.4:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:42 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,216.148.227.68:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:42 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,204.127.202.4:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:42 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,216.148.227.68:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:42 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,204.127.202.4:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:42 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,204.127.202.4:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:42 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,216.148.227.68:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:42 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,204.127.202.4:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:42 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,216.148.227.68:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:42 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,204.127.202.4:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:42 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,216.148.227.68:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:42 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,204.127.202.4:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:42 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,204.127.202.4:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:44 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,216.148.227.68:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:44 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,204.127.202.4:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:44 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,216.148.227.68:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:44 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,204.127.202.4:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:44 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,216.148.227.68:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:44 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,204.127.202.4:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:44 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,204.127.202.4:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:44 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,216.148.227.68:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:44 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,204.127.202.4:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:44 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,216.148.227.68:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:44 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,204.127.202.4:53,N/A
    PE,2002/05/18,14:37:44 -5:00 GMT,ZoneAlarm Pro,216.148.227.68:53,N/A
    Does anyone else see these on their machine? Doesn't it look like zap is attempting to call home? Does anyone have a clue or care to even guess. Zonelabs tech support has completely ignored my core question(what is zone alarm doing?) and sends me canned info about everything but. I don't have automatic updates checked. These addresses are my isp's dns servers. I get an identical entry in the log when I manually update(one connect). That I expect, as well as the greatly diminished number of incoming alerts behind the linksys. I'm just obsessed with wanting to now why zap is initiating these connection attempts and zonelabs won't come clean. thanks Steve
     
  2. Juke

    Juke Guest

    This is an outbound DNS(primary & secondary)- (port 53) issue. I wouldn't be too alarmed by it...:)

    Juke
     
  3. sawman

    sawman Guest

    thanks Juke, but could you elaborate on your answer. I still don't understand what zap is doing on startup. I'm guessing I could allow outgoing dns in advanced in internet and not see these log alerts anymore but I really would like to know why first. :-/
     
  4. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    juke and sawman - Welcome!

    sawman - as re: your problem with ZA, if you're quite certain that (a) you've properly registered the program and (b) that you do not have it set to automatically check for updates, then I can't really contribute anything in the way of a solution (since I don't use ZA anymore myself).

    But I'm sure others will be along to help that do use it, and if not, do you have your newsreader set to be able to read the GRC forums? Pete
     
  5. sawman

    sawman Guest

    Well, I uninstalled and reinstalled zap and after a few restarts I've not seen those alerts. Guess it was one of those computer anomalies meant to frustrate only me, as noone esle appeared to have suffered it. thanks all...
     
  6. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Glad you got it straightened out.

    And, you're quite welcome! :) Pete
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.