ZAPRO 3 vs. SpyBlocker

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Checkout, Feb 22, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Since ZAP Pro 3 can now block ads, cookies, web bugs, mobile code control, pop-ups and pop-unders, I might as well discontinue SpyBlocker.  Can anyone see a good reason why not?

    MTIA
     
  2. Zhen-Xjell

    Zhen-Xjell Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,397
    Location:
    Ohio
    I haven't had the time to beta ZAP 3.  All I can offer is, sometimes redundancy is a good thing.  But ultimately, what is your comfort level in choosing one over the other, or using both?
     
  3. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Compatibility and conflict are the biggest worries for me, especially as I had lots of problems with SB after I first installed XP.  I have to say the ZAPRO 3 seems to be doing a pretty decent job as a replacement for it.
     
  4. Zhen-Xjell

    Zhen-Xjell Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,397
    Location:
    Ohio
    Seems like you already have decided. ;)
     
  5. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    No...not yet.  ZAPRO 3 doesn't have a PACfile.  I'm going to check out Proxomitron, I think.
     
  6. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Hmm.  Hey, Paul, would your list work in ZAP's Blocked Zone?
     
  7. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Checkout - The only advantage to keeping SB on your machine would be that it would automatically block transmissions from or to anything that you (a) already have on your machine that you're not aware of (doesn't apply if you're positive you're clean) and

    (b) should you inadvertently d/l some spyware without realizing it, or one of the programs that you have now starts using spyware and you get it during an update of an existing program.

    Are you on dial-up? If so, Prox is going to slow down your surfing. Pete
     
  8. Zhen-Xjell

    Zhen-Xjell Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,397
    Location:
    Ohio
    I haven't had the time to test the beta.. what kind of format is it in?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.