ZA 6 Free vs Sunbelt Kerio 4.2.3 Free

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by q1aqza, Jan 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. q1aqza

q1aqza Registered Member

Is it fair to say that the free version of Sunbelt Kerio offers more advanced protection than the free version of ZA?

I have played with both of them and Kerio seems to be more effective for application control i.e. programs launching other programs and also has network intrusion detection which I now understand (from recent posts about the WMF exploit) that the Kerio IDS uses SNORT - is that correct? I'm not technical enough to understand much about SNORT but I have read that it is one of the foremost IDS.

As far as free firewalls are concerned these two are my shortlist. In terms of GUI, useability, system performance and compatibility with my other security apps I like them both pretty much equally, so my decision is based on which offers the strongest overall protection.

2. Albinoni

Albinoni Registered Member

I didnt know Sunbelts Kerio was free, thought it was a paid version.

3. Hipgnosis

Hipgnosis Registered Member

There is also a free version, just like when Kerio offered a free and paid. One advantage is that Sunbelt sells the paid version for $19.95 (USD) and until March 31 you can get it for $14.95.

There is info and comparison between free and paid here:

http://www.sunbelt-software.com/Kerio.cfm

4. Sputnik

Sputnik Registered Member

For now I would say ZoneAlarm. I first need to see how Sunbelt can keep the development of Kerio PF up. Because maintaining somebody else his program can be really difficult.

(Maybe the develloper comments are even written in Czech, and the Sunbelt company is American.)

5. Albinoni

Albinoni Registered Member

Ok now my Q here is do you actually download the paid one first and after 1 month that becomes free and some of the options are disabled or somthing like that.

6. Upasaka

Upasaka Guest