WSA and W8 Defender

Discussion in 'Prevx Betas' started by ParaNodes, Apr 9, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ParaNodes

    ParaNodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Posts:
    67
    So, Installed WSA invite onto W8 CP x64 on a VM and Windows Defender( MSE) shows disabled and won't reactivate, is this a W8 thing or a WSA thing, any one testing, was just checking for compatibility.
     
  2. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    I haven't poked at Win8 yet but I seem to remember some folks saying it worked ok. You might need to configure WSA to not show in the Security Center, in case WD is disabling itself based on that.
     
  3. ParaNodes

    ParaNodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Posts:
    67
    @Teckfox1976

    Thanks, totally forgot about Action Center, that's what it was, from WSA settings removed from Action Center, reboot( need to or W8 will crash when defender starts) and now all is well.
     
  4. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Interesting - have you noticed if Windows 8 is only crashing when Defender starts when WSA is in place? We're going to be starting a Windows 8 beta with WSA support soon and I'd like to be sure everything is fixed as best as possible.

    Thanks!
     
  5. ParaNodes

    ParaNodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Posts:
    67
    Only happened once, from settings unchecked show in Action Center, checked Action Center that WSA was gone, opened Defender GUI and machine rebooted, (no error in event viewer) after reboot checked WSA was not in action center opened Defender gui and it was now running, Defender( added exclusion for WRSA.exe just to be safe) and WSA have been fine since, all WSA functions appear normal, scans, scheduled scans, clean up computer working fine, only thing not checked is updating as there haven't been any, lock icon seems stuck sometimes in FF 11.0.
    AS W8 is beta, Vbox 4.1.10 and GA support for W8 is very beta, I expected more issues. If I come across anything else I'll be sure to let you know.

    P
     
  6. ParaNodes

    ParaNodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Posts:
    67
    W8,Just auto-updated from .73 to .77, no issues.

    P
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.