WormGuard Warnings hidden underneath...

Discussion in 'WormGuard' started by kingsbry, Nov 29, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kingsbry

kingsbry Registered Member

Hi,

I have been running WormGuard on Windows 2000 for about two years.

The WormGuard Warning Dialog always "shows-up" when appropriate, however it always "shows-up" entirely hidden from view -- underneath the initiating program window -- and sometimes "apparently" hidden beneath additional windows, as well.

As such, there is no easy way to know "if" the WormGuard Warning Dialog has "popped-up" -- or where it is hiding (if it is hiding). (No WormGuard Icon appears in the Desktop Taskbar, even when the Warning Dialog is present).

Why doesn't the WormGuard Warning Dialog just appear -- in plain view -- on top of the initiating program window, so the user could see it immediately and take appropriate action ?

Is there a way to configure WormGuard to avoid this problem ?

Thank you,

Bill

--

2. Pilli

Pilli Registered Member

Just tried it here XP SP2 created a text file in notepad called wg.txt.exe and then clicked it and I got this pop up ontop of this post:)

Ensure that you have "Display message box regarding this block" enabled in the main WG GUI and that the Hide allow box from user is not ticked.

HTH Pilli

Attached Files:

Last edited: Nov 29, 2004
  3. kingsbry

> Just tried it here XP SP2 created a text file in notepad called wg.txt.exe and then clicked it and I got this pop up ontop of this post

> Ensure that you have "Display message box regarding this block" enabled in the main WG GUI and that the Hide allow box from user is not ticked.

> HTH Pilli

Yes, I already have those two items configured as you describe.

I just discovered the hidden Warning problem is related to the file manager I always use: ZTree --
    (http://www.ztree.com/html/ztreewin.htm).