WMP 10 Rollback?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Cochise, Oct 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    I made the mistake of installing WMP10 about three months ago....it's rubbish....I want my WMP 9 back.....but according to M$ WMP 9 is no longer available to Win XP!!....(Damn their eyes)...

    Uninstalling doesn't work...rollback doesn't work either!!:(

    Unless someone out there knows different please....:D


    Cochise...WMPing in Wichita...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,791
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
  3. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,791
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    nice link tommy :thumb:
     
  5. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    Thanks and yes, comes very usefull some times.
     
  6. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Thanks Tommy and BigC.....I just wish it was that easy....I've had 'Oldversion.com' in my OS Tips for ages....brilliant site....

    But D/Ling WMP9 for XP doesn't work......WMP10 won't let me rollback, it just says 'Rollback Failed', it won't uninstall (same message) and trying to install WMP from Oldversion just gets me this:-

    Can't really try Restore...WMP10 installed some Months ago...

    Cochise.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    By typing (or, Copy and Paste) this into 'Run' I can at least get a far far better Player with many many more alternatives than the dreaded '10' will ever have....:D :D :cool:

    mplayer2.exe

    Cochise.
     
  8. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Since WMP 10 can be removed according to Microsoft....have you tried to re-install WMP10....re-boot and then attempt to follow Microsofts procedure again about How do I uninstall the Player?

    Bubba
     
  9. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
  10. Arin

    Arin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    997
    Location:
    India
    If a software refuses to uninstall then reinstalling it again usually helps. I'm
    running WMP10 with no problem here. After uninstalling it, you can install
    WMP9 and I've tested it, works fine on XP. Only when you try to check for
    updates (which normally you won't) it'll tell you to download WMP10.

    WMP10 includes the professional version of the Fraunhofer encoder which
    is a collector's item. WMP11beta has the latest version but the one with
    WMP10 works fine.
     
  11. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Went back to beginning of August in Restore (Didn't know it was possible to go back that far without losing some stuff, but I did and I didn't:D ).....So I'am now back with my beloved WMP 9....but what a palaver...

    Many thanks to all for your interest and excellent advice...what would I do without you....:D


    Cochise...Happy again in Hapsburg..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.