Windows XP SP1 officially announced (also - IE 6 SP1)

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by javacool, Sep 9, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,995
    List of fixes (308 in total): http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=/support/ServicePacks/Windows/XP/SP1FixList.asp

    Main service pack page:
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/pro/downloads/servicepacks/sp1/default.asp

    [hr]

    Internet Explorer 6.0 SP1 released:

    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/evaluation/ie6sp1.asp

    Enjoy! :D

    -Javacool
     
  2. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,995
    Also - an important note for those installing Windows XP Service Pack 1...

    In my experience installing it on many different machines, you should reboot twice - once after installation (it does it automatically unless you tell it not to) and once after that.

    Why? It seems as though, on all the machines I installed it on, things ran very slowly on the first reboot (possibly due, somehow, to files having been updated during the boot process)- but after the second, things were back to normal speed. :)

    -Javacool
     
  3. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,418
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    I don't know about this SP. I just came from another forum and many of the folks who downloaded and installed it had problems, varying from failure to reboot to freezing.

    Since moving to xp home in February, I've installed, selectively, some of their updates related to security. I think I'll pass on this SP.
     
  4. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    Hi Chuck and welcome to the Forum! :)

    yep! me too. i've had XP-Home since March and still learning what makes it tick and i've only locked it up twice so far LOL!

    i know i've already got some parts to this SP1 stuff installed, but the entire package mentioned above seems like an awful lot all at once. (and they mentioned "backup!"...so that's enough to make me wait)

    but i think i will d/l the SP1 for Internet Explorer since that seems to be separate ?

    snap
     
  5. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,402
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello all,

    I just downloaded XP SP1 and installed it with no problems. The size of the download however is qite large, 47 meg for my machine. I might just be one of the "lucky :D " ones, as I have never had any problems with any XP updates.

    One other note, it appears that the IE6 update is included in the XP SP1 update so you do not have to do both.

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  6. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    hi puff-m-d!

    did you use the Express Installation then?
    i read where installing the .NET Frame stuff is still an option, or does the Express Installation of SP1 offer a custom install?

    maybe once i am sure of XP's backup and restore a bit more, i'll give it a go.

    snap
     
  7. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,402
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    I used the express installation. I also already had the .NET framework installed on my system. I was offered no custom install options and the entire SP1 (I assume ;) ) was installed.

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  8. Mike_Healan

    Mike_Healan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Posts:
    302
    Location:
    USA
    Sadly, that may not be an option.
    http://grc.com/default.htm
     
  9. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,995
    I read about that just a little while ago - rather scary. :doubt: Again, without revealing much more than Steve Gibson did (which wasn't much - and a good thing too), ANY Windows XP system (WITHOUT Serivce Pack 1) can be seriously damaged by this vulnerability which impacts links, e-mail attachments, and much more - and it requires NO file to be downloaded onto your computer.

    Service Pack 1, however, fixes this major (yet oh-so-simple - which is why I won't say anymore) vulnerability.

    [hr]

    Also, the .Net framework was NOT installed automatically when I downloaded and installed the 133 MB full (network) installation of Windows XP SP1. In fact, I wasn't even given an option to install it.

    -Javacool
     
  10. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    Hi Javacool & Mike

    Mike - i read about that vulnerability first at your site, then decided after i read Javacool's post here, that i'd better upgrade to SP1.........guess i'll risk M$'s plans for my pc rather than the script-kiddies'.

    i'm on cable so it only took 1/2 to d/l....about another 15 minutes of it backing up files and installing.....and it did take a 2nd re-boot before things seemed to set in place smoothly. Otherwise, it installed without any problems.

    i have noticed though that Sygate's packets are showing alot more outgoing....and more detail about what's going out, maybe the new files give more information to existing software? And the upgrade didn't change any of my settings..everything stayed pretty much the same as it was before with IE, etc.

    thanks guys! :)

    snap
     
  11. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,312
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Did anyone else notice this warning about WMP after upgrading to SP1
    SpybotS&D warned me about a registry change.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     

    Attached Files:

  12. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    Hi Pieter,

    i ran SpybotS&D on Sept 12th and it gave me a red alert also for the WMP, which i deleted but kept in Spybot's backup just in case. haven't had any ill effects as i can see yet from deleting it. i don't know what kind of changes SP1 made to WMP though. i don't use it if at all possible. LOL

    snap
    (p.s. - i had d/l'ed and installed SP1 on the 10th)
     
  13. Mike_Healan

    Mike_Healan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Posts:
    302
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah that figures.

    I already have java, which as I understand it will break because of whatever it is M$ has done to it according to what I've been reading. Or is that only with the xp sp? Also there is some problem with .gif files. Also an attachment problem with OE6 (which I'm not using anymore). etc... etc... etc..

    Sure wish I could skip this. But, I just read in two separate articles that windowsupdate will require that xp has sp1 installed, despite all the bugs it introduces. Maybe some helpful soul will find a way to tell windowsupdates to mind its own business. Or maybe there's an alternate site to download these things from?
     
  14. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,312
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I deleted the WMP ID a long time ago after reading about it (can't remember where, most likely right here) and have denied WMP access to the WWW, so I don't expect any problems. It just made me curious.
    Dutch version wasn't available untill last week, wich gave me a chance to prepare for some "known issues" : http://www.ostweaks.com/temp/windowsxp_service_pack1_known_issues.html

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.