Windows XP file access problem

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Firebytes, Jun 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Firebytes

Firebytes Registered Member

Windows XP SP2

The following problem is suddenly happening on both my systems.

I tried to run an installer from the My Documents folder today and got the following message from Windows "Windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item." I am not sure exactly when this cropped up but I was able to run files from there as usual only a few days ago. Now no installer will run as it normally would. I am an administrator and I also tried running the files from Safe Mode with no luck. I then noticed that on the files that will not open I have an option when I right click them and select properties to "unblock" them next to a statement that reads "This file came from another computer and might be blocked to help protect this computer." If I unblock the item I can then run it.

These files did not come from another computer however (they were downloaded) and many have existed on the system for quite a while. The only thing I can think of that I have changed lately is that I updated Avast, MBAM, and SAS signatures and I updated Quicktime to the latest version. I do run Returnil's Anti-Execute but I haven't had problems with it changing anything like this before and I am not sure that it even could.

My questions:

Is anyone else suddenly experiencing this?

What could have caused this change, could the Quicktime update have caused it?

Other than clicking unblock on each installer's exe or a system restore is there a way to revert this?

Thanks

2. Firebytes

OK, I tried downloading a new installer and placing it in My Documents, it does not have the block. Also, I was wrong about one thing earlier, not every installer's exe has the block but many do.

3. Firebytes