Windows SteadyState - How Good Is It?

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by DasFox, Dec 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DasFox

DasFox Registered Member

2. ambient_88

ambient_88 Registered Member

Windows SteadyState is similar to Deep Freeze and/or Returnil. The good thing about SteadyState is that it allows you to temporarily store the changes made to the system even after rebooting, something that Returnil nor Deep Freeze can do. If I had known about it before I purchased Rollback Rx, I would probably be using it now.

Clean Slate seems to be a similar application, however, I have no experience with it. Why don't you try it? It seems to be the most feature packed virtualization software out there.

3. raakii

raakii Registered Member

Steady state is good for nothing, since it slows down the computer too much.Clean slate is error prone for me.
    Returnil is great and shadowuser is best stable one.use Ayrecovery bcos it free now.

4. Meriadoc

Meriadoc Registered Member

I wouldn't go as far too say WSS was good for nothing as the only real slow down I've encounterd is when booting.

- May I direct anyone interested to the WSS forum(Microsoft TechNet) which contains a lot of information.

5. ambient_88

Even though it might slow down the boot up a bit, it still is a good at what it does.

6. DasFox

DasFox Registered Member

I've read on the web others complaining about the slower boot times, so it does seem to be an issue bothering people...

Anything that degrades performance I'm not into... :thumbd:

P.S. Computers are suppose to be getting faster not slower... ;)

7. raakii

raakii Registered Member

@dasfox

U have made the right choice.

It takes much lesser time to restore an image than use extremely low boot softwares like WSS.

8. ambient_88