Wilders.com and ICQ together now??

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Krusty, Jan 12, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    Finland
    Hello

    I just noticed that clicking on some links at wilders causes my browser takes contact on icq.com and some other I didn´t have time enough to see what it was. o_O

    thank you for informative replies

    *Ari*
     
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    Finland
    Browser received data from icq and yahoo. This might be caused by the avatars ? Different locations.....just a guess. Opera shows which servers it is receiving data from. Waiting for the further information.
    Thank You

    *Ari*

    Clicking by this thread causes the phenomena above

    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=5970

    I have bo idea why is this, I see no reason yet, all avatars on the exact page are on wilders.com......
     
  3. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,401
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Krusty,

    This is due to checking each posters online status in ICQ, AIM, MSN, and YIM (if the posters on that page have these ID's listed in there profiles).

    Hope this helps.......

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    Finland
    Kent

    I see it now, really ....
    Thank you for your time answering this question. It seemed weird for me :p .

    *Ari*
     
  5. snowy

    snowy Guest

    >whitepages.icq.com<
     
  6. Mike_Healan

    Mike_Healan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Posts:
    302
    Location:
    USA
    The ICQ pager buttons are called from icq.com.

    http://web.icq.com/whitepages/online?icq=<ID number>&img=5

    There's a bug in IE6 that causes 3rd party images from some sites (like mine ;( ) to show as setting tracking cookies. I once thought VOP forums were setting tracking cookies until I realized it had to be a problem with IE.

    The privacy report thing will show a blocked from my site, but I promise you I don't use cookies anywhere but the forums.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. snowy

    snowy Guest

    Mike

    its not IE6
     
  8. snowy

    snowy Guest

    Mike

    sorry...I need to clarify my comment.....I don't use IE6

    so if it a problem with IE then its most likely is related to all versions. would be interesting to hear comments from non broswers...such as opera
     
  9. snowy

    snowy Guest

    *non-broswers* LOL sorry about that...ment to say non-IE broswers
     
  10. snowy

    snowy Guest

    By the ways...imho this is a non-issue......
     
  11. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Hi, everyone!

    Yes, the same thing happens in Opera as in IE - and for the same reason.

    If people have listed their ICQ # in their profile, then your browser (whatever it is) checks with ICQ (or the other messaging services supported) to see their online status.

    Most of the boards I visit have the same set-up and snowman is correct - it's a non-issue (at least for me). Pete
     
  12. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,838
    Location:
    New England
    I agree that it's a non-issue security-wise. However, I have noticed at times that getting the online status and image from there can sometimes delay page refresh times, and since I don't use ICQ anyway, I decided to block web.icq.com with my host file.

    Most of the time it's not any or much of a delay, but one night there was some kind of slowdown at that server, so that's why I block it now - just a speed thing.
     
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    Finland
    This case is clear as ice. Sure thing: ICQ and others makes pages opening slower than without them....You can´t see the difference with cable and T1.....but 56 k modem.
    Is not so big deal anyways.

    Thank You for the information

    ~Ari~
     
  14. Mike_Healan

    Mike_Healan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Posts:
    302
    Location:
    USA
    Oh hell I'm sorry. :blink:
    I meant the bug in IE that makes it look like some 3rd party cookies are being set.

    I know the connection to ICQ will happen in any browser. I was just ranting OT sorta. ;)
     
  15. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    Finland
    Hello Mike,
    Nice to see you messing awake and up......those teeny weeny icq icons just made all confusion :D

    ~Ari
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.