wifi privacy

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by wifiprivateeye, Feb 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wifiprivateeye

wifiprivateeye Registered Member

I share a wifi internet connection in a small community. The administrator of the system receives a log of all traffic and is able(and does) view websites visited by us.

I have installed Tor, Privoxy, Proximotron with information gathered here. I also have JAP and Ipig.

None of these are totally reliable as far as usage goes but I'm sure they do their job well as far as hiding where I surf, email, and interact in forums like this.

Do I really need to go to this extreme to hide my surfing from the administrator's prying eyes?

Would Proximotron or Privoxy be enough on their own to bugger his log on where I go?

Are there other solutions?

Thanks for any pointers.

2. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member

proxomitron would filter web sites not necessarily cover ur tracks. i have no experience with Privoxy, ive only used it in conjunction with tor. also i think its a bit much to use both JAP and tor/privoxy. id choose one of them and stick to it.

3. wifiprivateeye

wifiprivateeye Registered Member

Thanks for the reply.

I don't use Jap, Tor, and Ipig at the same time. One or two of them are usally down or too slow. Having all three enables me to have privacy at most times. Having to use them at all is a royal pain.
    Tor would not respond earlier so I switched to JAP and its been working remarkably well for the last hour or so.
    Ipig is a last resort for it is so slow.

4. topcat139

topcat139 Registered Member