Wierd Problem in Windows 2000 Pro

Discussion in 'MRU Blaster Forum' started by Mikmouse, Oct 23, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mikmouse

    Mikmouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Hi all, Bonjour ! :)

    Just my first post ..(typed twice, Browser settings too hight for this forum...lol)

    I got a strange problem under Windows 2000 Pro SP2(French))
    My windows explorer wont "memorize" folder's position, size, details, all options I normally got from the view menu or Folder options when checking boxes.

    I search for many days why, and after posting on DSLR without results, I made a "Ghost" of an older image partition. Win2k works great as before.

    So i was not "up to date" and I install the latest version of MRU Blaster (10/21/02) .....What a shame ! The windows explorer came again as soon the program has been executed once ....Registry settings cleared or modified by the program.
    (In the older Image, Mrublaster was not installed)

    If Paul has an idea ? :)
     
  2. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Welcome, Mikmouse ;)

    Peut etre, desormais: I'll leave this one up for Javacool ;).
    He'll show up and will take care of answering.

    A la prochaine,

    paul
     
  3. Mikmouse

    Mikmouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Thanks Paul, sorry to disturb you.

    I spend one hour an half trying to post with Mozilla 1.1b and finaly use Opera...
    I will wait Javacool, have time here :) I am very interested to know what can cause this problem.
    Bonne journee pour vous Paul, ...Il pleut a Paris... :(
    Henry
     
  4. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,995
    Sorry for the late reply (I had some trouble getting to the board earlier).

    This is probably caused by cleaning the Windows Stream MRUs - while they normally contain quite a bit of data on what programs and/or files you recently accessed, they can (potentially) contain those configuration options (this has been verified on *some* Windows 98 systems - for some reason other systems with Windows 98 do not seem to lose those settings when you clean the Stream MRUs).

    Try disabling them (uncheck the box) in the Settings screen. If this doesn't allow you to use MRU-Blaster without you losing those settings, please let me know. :)

    Regards,

    -Javacool
     
  5. Mikmouse

    Mikmouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Some news:
    First, thanks Javacool for reply I got this morning here.... :)

    I re-install Mrublaster 1.3 (10/10/02) first and uncheck "windows explorer" in the settings.
    Save settings and run it once : 5 items cleared.
    No problem with windows explorer.

    Next I check the box "Windows Explorer" , run the program once and 50 items has been cleared but "voila" all windows explorer settings are gone without rebooting and no way to go back.

    I have done a "good Ghost image" and install the latest version (10/21/02) - Same problem with windows explorer if box is checked.

    It seems to me that the most is cleared from stream mru in windows explorer (50) and few from other as i run Jv16Powertools regcleaner time to time. (Regcleaner does not clean explorer mru items).

    Is there any settings I can check in the registry, ask me and il will look and reply asap.
     
  6. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,995
    So, from what I understand, you had no problems if you unchecked the "Windows Stream MRUs" box?

    Then, I would recommend you simply leave it unchecked, and save the settings. You will be able to download updates to MRU-Blaster and it will still remember you do not wish it to scan and clean that list (and thus allow you to use the program with no problems). :)

    Regards,

    -Javacool
     
  7. Mikmouse

    Mikmouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Tanks for suggestion Javacool
    Easiest way to solve the problem.... :)

    One more thing I cant exply...It's works perfectly into Windows XP home (french).

    Have nice Day wihout rain.
    henry
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.