Which AT's unpack, & which do NOT?

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by bellgamin, Apr 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bellgamin

bellgamin Registered Member

I can spell *unpack* & that's about the extent of my knowledge on this topic.

I have read here & there that some AT's & AV's can unpack trojans, whereas others either cannot, or are limited in their abilities.

#1- What is meant by this?
    #2- How important is this ability to an AT's effectiveness? Specifically, should it be a prime factor in selecting an AT &/or an AV?
    #3- Of the *big name* AT's & AV's, which ones are "good" or "not so good" at doing this?

{Hangs head & blushes...} Uhh... I already bought Trojan Remover before I ever heard about this unpacking thing. Does anyone know if TR is okay [or not] from this standpoint?

regards......bellgamin

2. Pilli

Pilli Registered Member

Hello bellgamin, I am no expert on packing & unpacking but maybe this will help.

Packers do simply as their name suggests, they 'pack' or 'compress' a program (dll's also) much the same way something like PkZip does.
    The weakness of every packer is of course its unpacking 'stub', put very simply, if a program runs it must be unpacked at some stage.

1. AV's & AT's use many methods to find Viruses or Trojans Unpacking is just one.
    2. Probably the most important things are that the AV - AT programme is updated regularly & has good customer support.
    3. My personal opinion, Kaspersky & NOD32 for viruses - TDS3 & BO clean for Trojans

You can find most of the information here at Wilders forums or by reading through the main www.wilders.org site. Also check ot the in depth information about Trojans at www.diamondcs.com.au

3. anvil

anvil Guest

@bellgamin

1. 'Packing' or 'compressing' is a powerful method to hide malware from file scanners, because the file's appearance will (almost) completely change.