Where to start learning?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by grl69, Jun 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. grl69

grl69 Registered Member

Hi,

I'd like to get to grips with security issues but I'm far from being tooled-up IT-wise (i.e. I'm a novice).

How do you recommend I get started?

Many Thanks

:doubt:

2. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator

3. Marja

Marja Honestly, I'm not a bot!!

4. AsianTiger

AsianTiger Guest

5. richrf

richrf Registered Member

One way to start is "by example". By this I mean, you can look at what other users on this forum are using for their security, and my understanding the products, you can begin to understand the different aspects of security - which is quite diverse. This link might help you:

https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=22741

Rich

6. Blackspear

Blackspear Global Moderator

You may want to take a look here. As well there are discussions on security software here and even more here.

Hope this helps...

Let us know how you go.

Cheers :D

7. AsianTiger

AsianTiger Guest

8. Vikorr

Vikorr Registered Member

and this link is very good for links to security software (both free and paid), and tips and tricks on improving software security http://www.spywarewarrior.com/uiuc/main-nf.htm

It has tips on how to improve IE security, halfway down the left hand column, as well as a whole range of privacy and security advice.

9. Pollmaster

Pollmaster Guest

Good start.

This forum is good, but one of the greatest weakness of the people here is that they tend to go "software crazy".

Understanding what threats are out there and how to counter them is more important than running head long into a thread full of people boasting about the security software they use.