When to install Nod32 when setting up new pc

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Turpster, Sep 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Turpster

Turpster Registered Member

I guess I am new to the whole PC Security thing. More of a hardware person, I have always just relied on Norton Internet Security Prof. Well, after the past year of using NIS2004 and watching it drag my machines to a slow grind I decided to do some research on other options. I found a lot of good information on this subject, esp here at Wilders Security Forum - So THANKS to everyone!

After doing some testing, I decided that NOD32, Sygate Pro, TSD-3 and Wormguard would replace my use of Norton. I am already using Ad-Aware SE Prof, Spy Bot SD, Spywareblaster and Spywareguard.

My question is, on a clean install of Windows XP Prof. SP2 when should I install Nod32? Right after I install all hardware drivers? or wait until I have installed all my programs such as MS Office, etc.

To avoid conflicts, I usually wait to install the AV and firewall last, but now I am not so sure.

On a recent new install to compare the different AV's, trojans were already showing up and I had barely used the machine...... so, waiting might not be a good idea.

I have an always on connetion, behind a linksys router with built in firewall - But of course, the machine is still exposed unless I disconnect the modem.

If I disconnect the modem, then I have the problem of many programs needing updates, have product activation, etc. and I like to apply these updates prior to moving on to the next piece of software. But I guess I may have to get over that.

The smart thing to do I guess would be to disconnect the modem install everything with Nod32 last. Then connect the modem and do all the updates - but what a pain.

Let me know what you think my safest bet would be.

2. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator