What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,599
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I might go to it again if Avira can't get a handle on their 64 hidden objects issue involving a Windows update soon.
     
  2. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,806
    Location:
    Elliot Lake,Canada
    Good Evening ! Installed Bitdefender I.S.2012 and WSA Essentials. Both in Real Time. Sincerely...Securon
     
  3. Ranget

    Ranget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    Not Really Sure :/
    Can you shed some light on this Plz
    i didn't find any issue with avira
     
  4. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,599
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Avira is detecting a couple of particular windows updates as 64 hidden objects. The suggested termporary workaround from a mod there is to uncheck search for rootkits before scan option for those who run scheduled scans and to ignore a prompt to run Avira's rescue CD when these 64 are detected. There are threads on the Avira forum about it. Forgot to mention it's an issue for 64 bit Win 7.http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=144057
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2012
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,873
    Location:
    Canada
    back to Emsisoft Firewall 5.5 :thumb: :thumb:
     
  6. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    You would :thumb: :thumb:
     
  7. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,873
    Location:
    Canada
    the best ever;) it is complete solution;) firewall,hips and runsafer;)
     
  8. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,806
    Location:
    Elliot Lake,Canada
    Good Morning ! Back to Vipre I.S.2012 and WSA Essentials. Sincerely...Securon
     
  9. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Do they nicely play along? Any slowdown in browsing? Error message windows?
     
  10. Arcanez

    Arcanez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Posts:
    383
    Had the same setup but when I bought my SSD I replaced SD with Sandboxie cause I read there will be problems using SD with an SSD although I can't tell from experience cause I haven't tried it. I think SD is much more comfortable than Sandboxie. I still really like it. If I didn't buy my SSD I would still run it instead of Sandboxie. That's for sure.
    On the other hand both my applications that I run now have development.

    Ontopic:

    still my good old setup in the signature:)
     
  11. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    :thumb:
     
  12. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    I removed MBAM and Emsisoft Emergency Kit as on demand. I think they were redundant. Still using HitmanPro and ESET Online.
     
  13. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,957
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Slight Change.
    Comodo Firewall 5.10
    Sandboxie 3.8
    Shadow defender
    Panda URL filter
    Norton DNS
     
  14. Windows 7 with EMET configured
    ESET Online Scanner (not ActiveX) -- on-demand scanning only.
     
  15. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,247
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    Nice setup :thumb:
     
  16. RSpanky

    RSpanky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    220
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Added EMET - OpenDNS
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2012
  17. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,873
    Location:
    Canada
    how is the Emsisoft Antimalware these days?
     
  18. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,806
    Location:
    Elliot Lake,Canada
    Good Evening ! Ams963...I just reinstalled Vipre yesterday...and when I arrived home today my wife claimed browsing was slower...and when I tried to update Vipre just kept downloading update...so I cold booted and used Revo Uninstaller to uninstall Vipre...and have re-installed Eset Smart Security 5. I find it hard too believe that WSA Essentials would conflict with any app. Ams963 have you heard of confliction with Vipre and WSA? Sincerely...Securon
     
  19. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,873
    Location:
    Canada
    i am running WSA in one of my systems but it is alone and it fast Sincerely...jmonge;)
     
  20. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Well my good friend that what they all say. No conflict, wsa is compatible with most security software, etc. But it's really not. I had a bad experience of compatibility issue with wsa and EAM. That's why I left WSA. When I had asked Support of both products they said oh you got too many AV and security software oh there is nothing we can do. I was tired with this crap. So I've decided to run only one AV EAM on 1 pc and go with sbie on the rest of my pcs.
     
  21. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,806
    Location:
    Elliot Lake,Canada
    Good Morning! ams963...many thanks for your opinion. If they would merely state their might be incompatibility then you can exercise caution...but when they state their are no known compatibility problems...then in my view they're protecting the reputation of the product,in regards to consumer perception negatively affecting Sales! Sincerely...Securon
     
  22. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    Or they can't reproduce the issue and you can help them in solving the problem no? Well, I do agree that as a customer, you have no reason to help them solve the problem and it's up to the developer to solve them. :D
     
  23. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Aw bite me. Really? Come on! Emsisoft Support reproduced my particular conflict and immediately released the solution in the form of beta update in Emsisoft Antimalware. No sooner had I sat back and relaxed, another conflict popped up and another, and so on. Only this time neither Emsisoft Support nor Webroot Support could reproduce it. I even had Webroot Support remotely connect to my pc and the only thing they came out to determine was that I was using too much AV and security and there was nothing to do.
    Same goes for MBAM and SAS. They are fine when used as on-demand but creates some hefty fireworks when your turn on the realtime/on-access modules. And all those crap about nothing is 100% and SAS, MBAm should be used in realtime with a AV that Developers like Nick spreads around are simply unfortunate.
     
  24. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    I'm not biting anybody, I'm just sharing my opinion. Sorry if I offended you.
    I just found this statement weird "then in my view they're protecting the reputation of the product,in regards to consumer perception negatively affecting Sales!". Although everybody is free to share their opinion. :D. Even though I'm not using WSA, I found their support here actually very active. Again, sorry if I offended anybody.
     
  25. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    LOL. That was a figure of speech. And you have not offended me. I am just trying to refute your opinion and argument in this matter.

    I also find their support active but useless to the extent of solving compatibility issues like in my case.

    I find that statement half-weird if you like. The first part is correct. I mean of course they are protecting the reputation of their product. Who doesn't? The second part is not true I guess. I hear more people saying ' I am buying WSA because it's so light, fast and effective.' than saying 'I am buying WSA because it complements other mainstream security products and will do the same with the AV installed my pc'.