What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I've had a license for ADMuncher for a couple of years and I would say it's the best bang for the buck out there at blocking ads, popups and blocking common third-party tracking systems. Online Armor is also a terrific program for locking down your system with it's HIPS. These two combined with WSA and I feel pretty darn secure...:cool:
     
  2. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Checking out Ad-aware 10 free
     
  3. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,247
    Location:
    Chaotic Land

    Well said my friend :D :thumb: :thumb:
     
  4. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,031
    Location:
    Buxton, UK
    Ad Muncher is indispensable for me; I've been using it for over six years now.
     
  5. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,367
    Been using Ad Muncher for a few years here, excellent piece of software, wouldn't surf the net without it.
     
  6. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,315
    Location:
    Mumbai
  7. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Me too :thumb:
     
  8. 22ndcitysaint

    22ndcitysaint Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    PH
    Shadow Defender (on-demand)
    Keriver 1-Click Restore Free
    MBAM Free
    Hitman Pro
    Windows 7 FW
    Autorun/Autoplay disabled
     
  9. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    600
    Location:
    In His Service
    How many Sandboxes are running at the same time, it just might be the reason for the conflict? o_O
     
  10. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,936
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @JoeBlack40
    well...it's always been like that.....pay for the NAME ....quality ? ...not so much.......but then again....no NAME brands will just not tie the knots with quality......so it's better to squeeze out whatever sweet honey that comes with NAME brands....even if it's too small........

    @1chaoticadult
    ad muncher blocks everything in your testing, ay?......well it sure banged the buck out of your browsing........

    @Mongol
    thx a lot......is oa a bit too much noisy ?........
     
  11. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    added spyware blaster.
     
  12. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,247
    Location:
    Chaotic Land

    I mean blocks all the ads hehe :D
     
  13. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    8,938
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ikarus
     
  14. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,955
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Nah. It was the fact that I have shadow defender installed. I went over things with triplehelix and tried a few things. Then someone mentioned that shadow defender had caused WSA to act funny. No worries. I went back to panda for the moment. :D
     
  15. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,936
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @1chaoticadult
    roflmao.......guess I'm a little sloppy......
     
  16. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,031
    Location:
    Buxton, UK
    Now that I've got Kaspersky running well, I've brought Sandboxie back into the fold to run any suspicious files or test program installations.
     
  17. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,936
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @The Seeker
    what's wrong with kaspersky's own sandbox feature saferun.........
     
  18. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,031
    Location:
    Buxton, UK
    That's available in Kaspersky Internet Security - I use Kaspersky Anti-Virus.
     
  19. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,247
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    LOL you have the little sloppy disease :D
     
  20. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,936
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @The Seeker
    ah! I see.........then great :thumb:...........

    @1chaoticadult
    well I'm trying to give away a little of this gift to all my buddies....but you already got one ....and you blame it on wat0114 ......
     
  21. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,315
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Back to KIS till avast 7 goes final
     
  22. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    8,938
    Location:
    North Carolina
    been wanting to try this one for a long time. May have the best detection of any AV product. I like the fact that it has a sandbox also.:thumb:
     
  23. Tomwa

    Tomwa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Posts:
    162
    Since I'm currently loitering around here waiting for a resolution to my Trialpay issue I figured I'd add my security setup here.

    Anti-Malware (Realtime)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Kaspersky Internet Security 2012 (I have extremely strict settings here as well
    as custom rules setup in Application Control (I hate how everything becomes
    "Trusted" and is given free run) to help limit applications from resources they
    don't need to function).

    WinPatrol 2012
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Anti-Malware (On-Demand):
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Kaspersky Internet Security 2012 (Full Scan every week, Critical Scan every 12 hours).
    MBAM (Free) 1.60.1.1000
    AdAware Free (Realtime Disabled)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Preventative:
    Peerblock
    Keyscrambler Premium
    SpywareBlaster 4.6
    Sandboxie 3.64 (64-bit Paid) (Firefox is force sandboxed and the sandbox is erased
    with Eraser when Firefox is closed with 35 Gutmann passes, I also have multiple other
    sandboxes but I can't really list all those here)
    EMET 2.1 (Maximal Security)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Privacy:
    Vidalia Bundle 0.2.15 with Polipo Privoxy chain.
    TrueCrypt 7.1a (Encrypted entire drive with AES encryption and 42 character ASCII
    random passkey generated from https://www.grc.com/passwords.htm
    (I took only the first 42 to make the password slightly less of a hassle while maintaining security)
    Drive may or may not have a hidden volume (I'll never tell :p).
    Eraser 6.09.2343 (35 Gutmann passes for empty space and file erase).
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Firefox Setup:
    Torbutton 1.4.5.1 (Starts in Tor mode) Lots of specific changes here as well to make Tor more
    secure and less painfully slow that I won't list (Gotta cut down the size of this post).
    Adblock Plus 2.0.3 + Element HIding Extension 1.2.1 + PopUp Blocker Addon 0.3
    Better Privacy 1.68
    Cache Status 0.7.10 (For quick clearing of RAM cache between page views)
    Cookie Monster 1.10 (For quick cleaning of cookies)
    DNS Cache 1.7 (For quick cleansing/disabling of the DNS Cache)
    Flashblock 1.5.15.1
    Ghostery 2.7.1
    HTTPS Everywhere 1.2.2
    Link Password (Bookmark Encrypter)
    MasterPassword+ 1.16.1 (For locking firefox when idle and prevent firefox from being launched
    without the password)
    Redirect Remover 2.6.4
    NoScript 2.2.9
    RefControl (Forges all headings to site's root)
    TrackMeNot
    WOT

    Firefox is constantly in Private Browsing mode and denies all third party cookies. I've also done
    some other tweaks to firefox that I will not list here (done in about:config)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    General Windows Settings:
    I Strictly believe in LUA and as such I ran as a Standard user with UAC set to Always Notify. I also
    take the time to limit programs from accessing resources they do not need. The administrator
    account is backed by a 24 character random ASCII password from the site above (Made smaller
    to make entering it into those constant UAC prompts less of a hassle I do not believe a large detriment
    to security exists because of it). Login require both a Username and Password and Secure login is
    enabled. I've also secured the Windows Account Database, and limited external access to my computer
    from the network. Windows doesn't log programs, documents, etc. and CCleaner is scheduled via
    Task Scheduler to run every 15 minutes and wipe temporary files with 35 Gutmann passes (I also have
    a batch file for this purpose).

    There's lots of other things I could list here that have helped add to my security though I'm sure
    my post would be significantly longer. I welcome all suggestions and opinions especially those
    regarding ways to improve the usability, security, and stability of my system. I also apologize in
    advanced for any typos/mistakes in this post as it is quite long.
     
  24. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,936
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @Tomwa
    what about the imaging software ?........I'd suggest you to remove AdAware Free........
     
  25. Tomwa

    Tomwa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Posts:
    162
    I didn't list everything I have there (I got most I think) I use Acronis True Image for backups and why remove AdAware free? It doesn't really conflict with anything (No realtime scanning and doesn't remain active in the background) I guess it's probably a little redundant considering the setup though.