What firewall is best for me? (time crunch)

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Lazarey, Jan 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lazarey

Lazarey Registered Member

Hi, I'm in a bit of a time crunch and don't have time to read all the posts about different firewalls, though I'd like to.

I just bought a new computer (Windows XP Home) and I would like to know what the best software firewall would be for me.
    I currently have dial-up internet but I hope to get high-speed soon (within the next few months hopefully).

I would like like to get a firewall that isn't TOO complicated. I'm pretty new to computers and I don't think I have the knowledge to really get in there and do a lot of configuring or what have you.

Thanks in advance for any help anyone can provide! I really appreciate it!

2. ThunderZ

ThunderZ Registered Member

Right now you are somewhat protected by the built-in XP firewall. This is adequate for some\most users. 2 third party firewalls I know will get mentioned are ZoneAlarm (free vers. available) or Comodo. (free vers. available) If you should choose another firewall the be sure to disable the XP firewall.

3. Drew99GT

Drew99GT Registered Member

I'm an in no way very technically competent regarding firewalls, but if I can use Comodo firewall, ANYONE can. I don't quite know how it compares to other application based firewalls (is ZA free even application based, or is it rules based), but for me, it is super easy to use. I've even learned on my own how to set rules to open certain ports for print sharing. It's the easiest full featured firewall in my opinion, and generally regarded as the most secure.

4. pvsurfer

pvsurfer Registered Member

I completely agree with what's been said. Of the two, I happen to prefer Comodo's FW, but they are both very easy to setup/use and either one will provide much better protection than Windows FW.

5. cpj

cpj Registered Member

I like COMODO and also NOD32 for antivirus.