What are the consequences of disableing driver signature enforcement in Vista 64?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Close_Hauled, Jun 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Close_Hauled

Close_Hauled Registered Member

Hi,

I just disabled driver signature enforcement on my Vista 64 PC. I have been building systems for over 20 years, so I have some understanding, but not full, of consequences of what I have done. Therefore I thought that I would bring it up as a topic of discussion.

I did it so that I could get a Nostromo N52 to work with Vista 64. Belkin has a 64 bit driver for the Nostromo, but it does not Vista 64. Its digital signature requirement blocks the use.

So far, the Nostromo is working great. The Loadout Manager now works. Games are running great.

If I know this forum, your thoughts and input should be interesting.

2. Mrkvonic

Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

Hello,

You did well. More than well.

Digital signatures signed by MS means - vendors paid money to get the logo so they can sell its products under the umbrella of 'look we're cool, Vista endorses us'. In reality, many times, they are forced to make modifications to make their products work with MS.

It makes no difference, because:
    1. Any MS product is unstable by design, so why bother.
    2. The manufacturers know what they're doing even if MS do not.

Mrk

3. Close_Hauled

Close_Hauled Registered Member

Thanks for the reply Mrk, but I was more interested in the security aspects. Such as the technical details on how this can make your system more vulnerable to attacks from spyware and viruses.

Personally I like the idea of the digital signature requirement for the average user. People get viruses and spyware on their systems because they do not understand a lot of the does and don'ts when they are out there on the web. It's the risky be behavior that gets your system infected.