WD HD seems ready to go...

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by 24Peter, Oct 9, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 24Peter

24Peter Registered Member

I've got a 120GB WD hard drive (my boot drive Win XP) that has been making a high-pitched whinning sound for a few days now so I am assuming there is a bearing or some other problem imminent. I want to clone the drive contents to a second identical HD (currently a slave, used for data only) and then swap out the problem drive and either hope WD will replace it under warranty or just trash it.

I've been doing some on-line research regarding imaging software since I've never used it before and it looks like I'll be downloading and installing TI9 tomorrow (the problem disk is in my desktop machine - I'm using my laptop for research since I figure the less I use my desktop the better.) I'm interested in an exact clone of the problem disk - don't want to resize partitions or anything like. I already have a separate backup of my data files on DVD but would like to include everything that's currently on the problem disk on the new one (it's roughly 100GB in two partitions - c: operating system and applications; d: data (My Documents, etc.)).

So... I've read the TI9 user manual and been poking around online. I think I know how to do it. Is there anything in particular I should be looking out for?

2. Allen L.

Allen L. Registered Member

Well not trying to be funny, but the main thing I would be looking out for would be v.9 of TI. :)

3. 24Peter

I'm not sure I follow. Is there a problem with v.9?
    (20 minutes later...) hmmm, after reading some more of the threads on this forum, it would seem so. Wonder if I can find a place to download v.8?

Last edited: Oct 9, 2005
  4. mildewman

mildewman Guest