Vista VS XP Pro

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Metal425, Sep 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Metal425

Metal425 Registered Member

Well, I used to run XP pro, but I decided to take the plunge and try out Vista.
    I have been running Vista Home Premium for about 2 months now.
    I'm starting to notice some slow-downs but I think it's because Vista's effects and themes. I was wondering what would your advice be?

Stick with Vista or Reformat and go back to XP Pro.

Thanks,
    Matt

2. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member

Your choice. If you want better performance go back to XP otherwise stay with Vista.

3. nexstar

nexstar Registered Member

You could try turning off some of the visual stuff first and see if that makes it ok for you.

I've just reverted back my only Vista installation to XP and I have to say that I'm not regretting it :) .

Graham

4. Franklin

Franklin Registered Member

I would get another hard drive and install XP on that as you might come across some tips on Vista and think damn, I wish I could have tried that.

5. lucas1985

lucas1985 Retired Moderator

Looking at Vista's I/O Performance

6. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member

Ditch winVISTA and go back to winXP. After 3-5 years winVISTA + 100 patches will be ready for you and there will be enough tweaking softwares to get rid of the useless gadgetry.
    I run Applications to do my job or hobbies, because an OS is unable to do this.
    What is so important about an OS that only runs your system and can't do nothing more than that ?

7. lucas1985

A good OS extracts the best of a given system and improves the user experience. But yes, I run applications, no OSes.

8. ErikAlbert

I ran win2000proSP4 and now winXPproSP2, I don't see any difference as an average user, except gadgetry. If I want to see gadgetry, I watch cartoons. :)

9. lucas1985

Do you want a difference? ClearType is an example of a useful feature.

10. sukarof