using the bootable rescue CD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Joanne2, Jun 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Joanne2

Joanne2 Registered Member

I'm using Windows XP SP3. I have the boxed version of ATI, which means that the CD should be bootable (so I haven't created one of my own). Since I'm a newbie at this kind of backing up, I'm working my way through Grover Hatcher's wonderful Beginner's Guide.

One of his steps is to boot with the TI Rescue CD, confirm that all the drives that are plugged in are recognized by TI, and then remove the CD and reboot into Windows.

Never having booted from a CD before, I'm nervous. Can I screw up anything? If everything works as it's supposed to, what will I see as I'm booting up? Will I end up at the regular XP screen or in TI or someplace else? What will happen when I remove the CD? How would I reboot at that point? If there are screenprints of what things should look like at each step, I'd be grateful for a link to them.

If booting with the CD doesn't work, what should I do?

Thank you!

Jo-Anne

2. DwnNdrty

DwnNdrty Registered Member

No, you wouldn't screw up anything. The boot order in the Bios has to be set so the Optical drive is ahead of the hard drive. Just put the cd in the drive and do a Restart. If the cd boots, it will boot into a True Image screen. It it doesn't boot but the computer goes into Windows, then you have to change the boot order in the Bios.

It is likely that the retail True Image isn't the latest build for that version so it would be good to register online and see what the latest build is. Or let us know here what your retail version and build numbers are and someone will tell you if it is the latest.

3. Joanne2